Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    51
    Member #
    10207
    Ok, this one might be simple. I got everything how I want it on my site, except now i'm worried about loading times. Is there a way to have my background picture only load once, then when you click a link it only changes the content in the content box? This would help a LOT. Thanks.

    edit: http://www.geocities.com/graphdesignmark

    oh yeah...and is there a way to, say, type out the content in wordpad or something, then save that to your server and have it load the text from that? kind of hard to explain, sorry.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    Background images generally only load once in a good browser. Browser cache is designed so that such resources as the page background are loaded again unless a newer copy is found on the server. Naturally, a page reload will also reload these elements.

    By the way, at least in Firefox, your text is virtually unreadable on that background.

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    51
    Member #
    10207
    Woah, everything is showing up completely wrong in firefox. All of that is supposed to be in the box. Look at the link..how do i fix that?


  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    Oo. Right. Most critically, your CSS contains extraneous closing braces (}s without {s). Also important is the fact that you have img HTML elements inside the url() parts of CSS, which isn't right. Try fixing those and see what happens.

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    51
    Member #
    10207
    you're a life saver, shadow. thanks alot. it should work right on firefox now.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:43 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com