Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    santa cruz
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    10844
    I am implementing html pages using php that will be accessed by a pda (handheld - such as phone or palm running the pda version of explorer). thus far these devices do not support javascript. My current website used the tab mechanism to paint options across the top of the page, then allowed selection of one of the tabs:

    function switchTab (curTab, newTab){
    curTab.btn_SwitchTab.value=newTab; curTab.submit();
    }

    <a href="javascript:switchTab(document.<?php echo $tab;?>,'Activities')"><?php echo $str_Activities;?></a>

    Since javascript isn't supported on pdas, I need to convert all these to html. Is there some easy mechanism for doing this?

    I also had a nice little drop-down menu, but I don't seem to be able to affect this is html. Is there some way of doing that? Here is the javascript code:

    function MM_jumpMenu(targ,selObj,restore){ //v3.0
    eval(targ+".location='"+selObj.options[selObj.selectedIndex].value+"'");
    if (restore) selObj.selectedIndex=0;
    }


    I'm using dreamweaver to develop the php.

    debra

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member zionlocke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    .: l33t Basement :.
    Posts
    736
    Member #
    483
    Liked
    3 times
    You can forget about having any drop down menus whatsoever. You can have tabs. Use php to learn what the current page is and display the currently selected tab accordingly. PHP is a server side only script, and it only changes during packet transfers. So, you can forget about drop down menus
    Cheers, zionlocke :chinese:
    Links: Zion Creation | Blog

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    santa cruz
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    10844
    no joy with pull downs

    thanks for the quick reply. I suspected that I could not have pull down menus as all my searching has netted me nothing thus far. I was just hoping the perhaps someone out there would have access to some clever trick or perhaps knowledge of a small program that can be loaded onto the pdas to process only very tiny amounts of javascript without having the entire engine in place.

  5. #4
    Senior Member zionlocke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    .: l33t Basement :.
    Posts
    736
    Member #
    483
    Liked
    3 times
    yeah. how many people would download a program onto their pda for drop down menus?
    Cheers, zionlocke :chinese:
    Links: Zion Creation | Blog


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:41 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com