Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Opera Rendering

  1. #1
    j2k
    j2k is offline
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    22
    Hi everyone,

    I have been working on a site design and it renders fine in IE and Firefox, however, in Opera, it renders awfully.

    Can anyone help or offer advice please? Sorry if it's something simple - it's just gone 4am here and I'm very tired after trying to solve this problem for several hours!

    Thanks.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Essex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    200
    Member #
    10131
    I think it's because Opera is making a margin around your page. Opera adds a margin even if you specify margin:0, for opera you have to write padding:0 in your body tag as well as margin:0.

  4. #3
    j2k
    j2k is offline
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    22
    Thanks! That was it - plus I needed some hspaces too.

    All working fine now - cheers!

    Now I'll run the code a couple of million times through the XHTML validator to make it nice and compliant

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Essex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    200
    Member #
    10131
    No problem, i see your code is now valid, although your css is not check out http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/v...ethemes.com%2F to see it.

  6. #5
    j2k
    j2k is offline
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    22
    Thanks for pointing that out

    CSS is now valid too.

    I'm contemplating whether to try to make it XHTML 1.1 compliant instead of XHTML 1.0 Transitional... what do you think?

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Essex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    200
    Member #
    10131
    I'm not sure really, it's up to you and i suppose it is future proofing your code, although it is very strict and you may have to alter your design slightly e.g. hspace is not allowed.

    Also just a small point in your css you have
    Code:
    margin-top : 0; 
    margin-bottom : 0;
    margin-left : 0;
    margin-right : 0;
    That is unneccasary, all you need is
    Code:
    margin:0;

  8. #7
    j2k
    j2k is offline
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    22
    Changed. Thanks

    I think I'll leave it as XHTML 1.0. It's valid code and 1.1 seems too much hassle at this stage.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:02 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com