Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Liked
    6 times
    I am trying to publish a few super-simple all-purpose SEO-friendly & table-free CSS templates.

I am not trying to sell anything or to make "design" templates. I am trying to make 1-2 basic "page layout templates" for beginners (including myself) to make a standard, cliche, functional web site. And which ideally, allows for "design" elements to be added later.

I am a CSS beginner myself and do not aspire to be a serious web designer. Here is my attitude toward web design:

--Make your websites search-friendly, user-friendly, accessible, and basically presentable.
    --Then if and when appropriate, hire a professional web designer for $50-$500 (depending on your budget) to make a slick custom design. And which does not compromise the original standards, listed above.

I am building several sites. So I want to make a simple "all-purpose" template for myself and anyone who cares to use it. Here is the goal:

(logo any size)(<h1> vertical-centered OR wrapping)
    <links> (Main text OR <h1> overflow if wrapping)
    <links> (Main text)
    <links> (Main text)
    <links> (Main text)
    <links> (Main text)

You can click here to see my "attempt" at this (still using some tables though): "SEO-friendly & table-free CSS templates"

As far as I can determine, there are 3 possible solutions to this simple template:

1. Two tables. A top table which vertically-centers the logo and the <h1> with respect to each other--and thus neatly separates them from the rest of the page. And then a second table with:

First TD: (main content) + (links margin with "float:left")