Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member jddesigns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    30
    Member #
    11038
    OK, I am using CSS to create my site, and with my links, I have this odd occurance. In Firefox, if the link on my navbar is not active (because you are currently viewing that page) then I make it appear as a <h1>. But, when I do this, it moves the link down. I have no idea why it does this - but it does.

    For the record, I use a H1 tag because if I try to overline/underline it in the actual div id tag, I can't remove it for the just the links.

    If you look at my page in Firefox, you'll see what I mean:

    http://www.j-ddesigns.com/services.htm

    I also have an issue of padding being different between firefox and explorer - anyone else have this issue / know how to solve this problem without giving explorer extra room? I don't like that solution because it doesn't let my page be quite as tight.

    Thanks,
    Jeff

    JD Designs
    http://j-ddesigns.com

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member nocloset's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    108
    Member #
    3228
    I don't have access to Firefox at the moment, but you might try using a <span> instead of a <h1>.

    As far as the padding thing, that is a well-documented issue. A Google search on "css hacks" or "browser padding" or "css compatibility" or some such thing should help you find a suitable workaround.

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    Er... It looks fine to me. Maybe you're using an old version of FF that has a bug in it? I'm using 1.0.6.

  5. #4
    Senior Member audiofreak9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    339
    Member #
    9584
    Looks fine to me also in both IE and FF...

    EDIT: BTW, you have overflow: hidden; in your css, if you view your site in 800x600 it doesn't completely fit. This will cause IE users with 800x600 not to be able to view the entire site.
    Also you might think about using css grouping, it will shrink your css file, sometimes dramatically. Here is a link to examples: http://www.htmldog.com/guides/cssintermediate/grouping/

  6. #5
    Member jddesigns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    30
    Member #
    11038
    Thanks all,

    It looks fine now because I actually changed the coding in order for it to work in all browsers...just trying to see if there was anything short of that I could do.

    Thanks for all your help.
    Jeff

    JD Designs
    http://j-ddesigns.com


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:29 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com