Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Liked
    6 times
    When I first started building websites--of course the first thing I noticed was, it was ridiculous to repeat and edit the same links margin manually on every page.

I asked my web host for the solution. He recommended SSI. It works fine so I never looked back. But...

--I seldom see other sites with Shtml pages.
    --I never find SSI discussed or accounted for in web design forums and software.
    --A local student learning Dreamweaver told me that this program "seems to" edit all links on all pages from a single change.(?)

I am not a professional, so it is not feasible for me to buy Dreamweaver or other $200+ products. And I know that many others are like me.

aranoid: However, I have to wonder... HOW is everybody else maintaining their links margins? WHY is SSI not more common? Is there a better way? Am I stuck on something backward and unhealthy? :smoker:

Member #
    PHP is the most common language of choice for includes at the moment, but its mostly a personal preference.

Member #
    Liked
    6 times
    Thank you Fallout!

I hardly know what PHP is--and I do not care to learn another "language." So I guess I'm stuck with SSI, which does not require knowing anything except HTML. And hopefully, just as well...

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    Well, PHP as a language is quite powerful, but for includes it's not much more complex than SSI, which is an addendum onto HTML anyway:
    PHP Code:
    <?php include( 'file.html' ); ?>