Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    19
    Member #
    11738
    hey everyone,

    I'm working on a site for a client, and I'm getting the wierdest problem. The content will overflow the footer of the page sometimes. It seems to be pretty random, I mean, most of the time, it'll be fine after you refresh the page, but where the footer suddenly decides to be rendered changes every time.

    Here's the link: http://www.cogleyconsulting.com/soli..._solutions.php

    I think the problem lies in the following section of code:

    <td valign="top">
    <div class="content">
    <table width="532" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="10" bordercolor="black">
    <tr valign="top">
    <td style="border-right: 1px solid #000000;">

    And here's the div.content class:
    div.content {
    position: relative;
    left: 20px;
    width: 100%;
    height: 100%;
    border-style: solid;
    border-width: 1px;
    border-right: white;
    border-bottom: white;
    vertical-align: text-top;
    }


    My area has mostly been in programming, so this stuff is out of my realm for the time being. Any help you guys would have would be awesome!

    Thanks,
    Joel

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    S.Wales, UK
    Posts
    250
    Member #
    10742
    Seemed to be ok with me. I couldn't duplicate the error.
    Paul Creedy
    Visit my community site at: www.rhonddacynontaff.com
    My hosting: www.rcthosting.com
    My Content Management product: www.dynamiccontenteditor.com

  4. #3
    Senior Member Rince's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    183
    Member #
    8318
    Page looks fine on opera and IE. Just messed up on Firefox. I tried to check the validaty of your html but couldn't. The w3c validator gave me errors relating to the integrity of the file it's self (couldn't read the code) http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=ht..._solutions.php

    Could the same thing that blocked the w3c also be messing up FF?

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    S.Wales, UK
    Posts
    250
    Member #
    10742
    Looking those lines up there's illegal characters in there

    You've used instead of ' in the text. That character isn't supported in html as far as I know. (although IE will display it).

    If you can get rid of those and try to re validate perhaps that will show up the actual error.
    Paul Creedy
    Visit my community site at: www.rhonddacynontaff.com
    My hosting: www.rcthosting.com
    My Content Management product: www.dynamiccontenteditor.com

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    19
    Member #
    11738
    Thanks for all the replies!

    That weird that no one else really saw the errors, since it was acting stupid on all platforms for me. I'll get to work on that single quote thing.

    Thanks again for the help. You guys rule.

    -joel


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:35 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com