Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Floating Layer

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    11944
    I had to create a new account because i lost my password and it wont email it to me, i tried every email i have and kept saying email not found, very strange :-( I'm trying to create a floating-layer, I'm half way there but need help;

    I tried a css code recommended http://css.maxdesign.com.au/index.htm by a friend of mine, to float a layer up-and-down a page when you scroll; the thing is, im using several JS in my-site .dwt file and when i try to add this feature (i use FP03) it does not work, esp. that i find when i add the code it does not create a layer (which its suppose to), but rather a table.. So i could not use it, and tried several others, similar results..

    I found a script on CodeLifter which allows you to float an Email This Link layer; I decided to use it but not for this feature, just for the scrolling part; when i add this script, im able to see a LAYER and i got it to work in Firefox and IE; only issue here in IE it will not move up and down but rather when the page-loads it scrolls quickly to the end of the page and stays at bottom; in Firefox it works exactly as it should; moving with the page-scroll.

    The layer im talking about contains my Links to Amazon.com for Books; its on right-hand side of the screen; you can check the page http://www.islamicarchitecture.org/a...lligraphy.html

    Any ideas on how i can make it work in IE; by any chance does it function different on your browser?

    Please let me know if you try and if you have a solution..

    Thank you.

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,657
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    138 times
    What's your old user name?
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  4. #3
    Senior Member Rince's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    183
    Member #
    8318
    I answered this just like 12 hours ago. Can't find it now. Did you guys restore form backup or something?

    Anyway. Javascript is th old fashioned way to do this. There is also usually a lagg in the javascript while the browser catches up. This causes the menu to bounce up and down like a yo-yo. Not all that good. There are much simpler methods in CSS.

    For everyone other than IE, you can just use position:fixed to put the menu in. This is the method used by the w3c on this page http://www.w3.org/Style/CSS/

    There is a hack to get the same effect working cross browser by making use of the overflow:auto setting. See these page for info and examples http://tagsoup.com/-dev/null-/css/fixed/
    http://www.howtocreate.co.uk/fixedPosition.html
    http://www.cssplay.co.uk/layouts/fixed.html

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    11944
    Wired, old name was "NEWUSER".
    Rince, i will check the sites you mentioned.

    Thank you

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    11944
    Rince, I found with above sites, no matter css or Javascript, in IE the layer "bounce up and down like a yo-yo"..

    Except the current script im still-using for the floating layer (showing amazon.com logo), it actually-scrolls nicely, and works in both IE and FF, except in EI it wont move with the page, once it loads, it sits at the bottom.

    I cleaned my code and the script, i just cant get it to move in IE. Other way is to make it fixed/sticky layer to avoid this issue and that seem to work with all browsers.

  7. #6
    Senior Member Rince's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    183
    Member #
    8318
    Rince, I found with above sites, no matter css or Javascript, in IE the layer "bounce up and down like a yo-yo"..
    No, only the javascript method bounces. The method using css like this
    http://tagsoup.com/-dev/null-/css/fixed/left/0-0-0
    Does not bounce. Are you sure you implemented the code correctly.

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    11944
    Yes, i did -- even when i view the sites your mentioned the layers are not smooth as they appear in FF.. I'm not sure if my IE maybe is messed up!


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:36 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com