Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member bil2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    50
    Member #
    12214
    Hi everyone. Great forum you folks have here.

    My page behaves pretty well in FF, but in IE I'm getting some weird breaks between DIV tags where it should not happen.

    Site: http://sulley.dm.ucf.edu/~bspingarn/work/index.htm

    CSS file: http://sulley.dm.ucf.edu/~bspingarn/work/layout.css

    Problem 1: Directly below the header area where the logo is there is a gap that should not be there.

    Problem 2: On column 2 there are gaps between the ad spots that should not be there.

    I don't even know where to start to try and figure this one out, so any help or a boost in the right direction would greatly be appreciated. Thanks
    -Bill

  2.  

  3. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    SE South Dakota
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    10224
    You have a div there called subheader but I don't see see any css in your file for the ID?

    I also see in one of your header CSS styles you have "padding-top: 2px" this could be the culprit.

  4. #3
    Member drews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    St. Petersburg, Florida
    Posts
    63
    Member #
    341
    I have this same problem in IE with a page I am designing. I posted here a few months ago looking for a solution, but to no avail.

    Are you using the IE7 Beta? I am curious to see if this is a problem with IE7 or all versions of IE. I did not have any problems like this in IE6.
    -drews
    -White Fiber Hosting - Coming Soon!

  5. #4
    Member bil2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    50
    Member #
    12214
    Quote Originally Posted by drews
    I have this same problem in IE with a page I am designing. I posted here a few months ago looking for a solution, but to no avail.

    Are you using the IE7 Beta? I am curious to see if this is a problem with IE7 or all versions of IE. I did not have any problems like this in IE6.
    Nope testing in IE6 and FF 1.5

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    92
    Member #
    12042
    i can see what your problem is. simply copy your CSS document, rename the new one to something like "StylesIE.css" and then play around with it just to get it to work with IE.
    Then use this code below:
    "<!--[if lte IE 6]>
    <style type="text/css">

    @import url("stylesie.css");

    </style>
    <![endif]-->"
    In your header, this will change to a different style sheet if the browser is IE .

    I think that you will have to change the margin-top to about -3px in the subheader.

    Hope this helps

    EDIT: i can see that you have some other problems with IE, just play around with them

  7. #6
    Member bil2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    50
    Member #
    12214
    Quote Originally Posted by Gaz545
    i can see what your problem is. simply copy your CSS document, rename the new one to something like "StylesIE.css" and then play around with it just to get it to work with IE.
    Then use this code below:
    "<!--[if lte IE 6]>
    <style type="text/css">

    @import url("stylesie.css");

    </style>
    <![endif]-->"
    In your header, this will change to a different style sheet if the browser is IE .

    I think that you will have to change the margin-top to about -3px in the subheader.

    Hope this helps
    [B
    EDIT: i can see that you have some other problems with IE, just play around with them

    Thanks for the lead in the right direction I actually had to set a negative margin on #header not #subheader though.

    Now another question: if I use that @import url won't it just import the IE style sheet into the existing/default one and thus having duplicate entries for the id's and classes?

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    92
    Member #
    12042
    no, it replaces the whole style sheet to just that one.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:24 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com