Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    9
    Member #
    12261
    Hi I have a site created using css, I've added a background which shows in firefox but not in Internet explorer. Heres my css:

    Code:
    .Background {
        background-image: url(../WEBIMAGES/wood-effect.jpg);
        background: repeat-x repeat-y;
        top: 0px;
        position: absolute;
        height: 1140px;
        width: 100%;
        left: 0px;
        margin-top: 0px;
        margin-right: 0px;
        margin-bottom: 0px;
        margin-left: 0px;
    Could anyone tell me why it'll show in one and not the other. Many thanks

  2.  

  3. #2
    Member allyharp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    72
    Member #
    6695
    For starters all I can see that looks odd is
    HTML Code:
    background: repeat-x repeat-y;
    which I think should become
    HTML Code:
    background-repeat: repeat-x repeat-y;
    Maybe also 'top' should come after you define the position as absolute?
    Currently using: Firefox 1.5, IE 7, Notepad, Ms Paint, GIMP

  4. #3
    Senior Member karinne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Aylmer QC Canada
    Posts
    1,607
    Member #
    4335
    Liked
    8 times
    Actually allyharp, the

    HTML Code:
    background: ...
    is ok. It's shorthand - http://www.456bereastreet.com/archiv...nd_properties/

    I'm thinking it's the repeat-x repeat-y ... I don't think you can put both in there. Just

    HTML Code:
    background: repeat;
    is enough.

    But my question is for noomski... why do you have position: absolute? ... Can we "see" the site... have a link?
    [a web design portfolio - Currently NOT AVAILABLE for work | web design | Re-coding | PSD-to-HTML]
    I'm also on: virb - facebook - twitter - flickr - del.icio.us

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    9
    Member #
    12261
    Many thanks allyharp, just adding

    Code:
    background-repeat: repeat-x repeat-y;
    did the trick nicely

  6. #5
    Senior Member karinne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Aylmer QC Canada
    Posts
    1,607
    Member #
    4335
    Liked
    8 times
    Really? ... That's weird 'cause using shorthand vs longhand shouldn't matter?!

    Well... at least your problems' been solved but I'd still like someone to enlighten(sp?) me on this.
    [a web design portfolio - Currently NOT AVAILABLE for work | web design | Re-coding | PSD-to-HTML]
    I'm also on: virb - facebook - twitter - flickr - del.icio.us

  7. #6
    Member allyharp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    72
    Member #
    6695
    I read just the other night that IE often has problems with shorthand notation so I normally think it best to be safe and declare most things individually.
    Currently using: Firefox 1.5, IE 7, Notepad, Ms Paint, GIMP


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:39 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com