Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hi, I'm relatively new to web design, but I need some help with a problem I have.
    I am a co-owner of a digitalphotography forums site and we have2 monthly contests. At the end of a month, we need to generate a poll in order to determine a winner from amongst our members. I have generated the following form:
    http://www.faulkvalley.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/DPE/forum/voting %20jan%2006%20circles.htm
    My problems are that:
    1. when I submit it, it opens up Outlook or whatever email programme and I dont want this, I want it to to just go to another screen and say thanks for your vote, but it sends an email to myself and other joint owner so we cxan collect the votes.
    2. the drop down menus don't display the description of what has been voted for in the form, it just comes up "submit vote"
    Any help would be very much appreciated.
    Thanks
    Simon

Member #
    Liked
    6 times
    1) The reason why it opens up a new email is because that is what you are asking the form to do with this line of code..

HTML Code:
    <FORM action="(list of email addresses)"
    instead you should have the form's 'action' go to a script of some sort written in your favorite language. For example..

HTML Code:
    <FORM action="/scripts/pollsubmit.php"...
    It could send your visitor to a conformation page if the form is filled out properly and either send you the vote via email, or maybe store the results in a database of some sort that can be retrived by you later or displayed on the site. There are literally endless ways to tackle this problem. It all depends on what you use to create your script and what resources you have avaliable.