Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member mikeycorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    272
    Member #
    891
    Hello. I just took over design for an existing site, I posted all the pages, but when I go to check out the new pages at the site, Internet Explorer is still loading the cached pages.

    Is there a way I can force Internet Explorer to load the newest page without having to tell my client they're going to need to hit F5 to see the new page?
    ~ mikeycorn
    With over 72,000 questions worth of user submitted quizzes, it's the world's most popular quiz creation software:
    PEST - The Personal Exam Self-Tester

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member igeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    202
    Member #
    11644
    NO!.. there is not a way that i know of..
    maybe explain to the client why it works the way it does..

  4. #3
    Senior Member mikeycorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    272
    Member #
    891
    grrrr . . .

    (thanks for the reply, though.)
    ~ mikeycorn
    With over 72,000 questions worth of user submitted quizzes, it's the world's most popular quiz creation software:
    PEST - The Personal Exam Self-Tester

  5. #4
    Senior Member audiofreak9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    339
    Member #
    9584
    Adding this to the code will prevent this in the future:
    Code:
    <META HTTP-EQUIV="Pragma" CONTENT="no-cache">

  6. #5
    Senior Member straight_up's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pennsylvania/Arizona
    Posts
    601
    Member #
    4309
    CACHING Tutorial for Web Authors and Webmasters: Introduction
    There are good reasons to leave caching enabled.
    I am Alan Hogan (@alanhogan on Twitter). I like PHP, UI/UX design, and OS X.

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    michigan
    Posts
    11
    Member #
    12675
    There are tons of auto refresh codes made with javascript.

    Even though they suck, and i don't use javascript so i don't know if it's possible to only make the page refresh the first time someone views it.

    Google javascript refresh codes. Heh.

  8. #7
    Senior Member straight_up's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pennsylvania/Arizona
    Posts
    601
    Member #
    4309
    If possible, renaming all the involved files (at least as visible to the browser!) can do the trick.
    I am Alan Hogan (@alanhogan on Twitter). I like PHP, UI/UX design, and OS X.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

force ie11 reload

,

force refresh ie11

,

force refresh internet explorer 11

,
force window refresh internet explorer javascript
,
ie 11 force refresh of css
,
ie 11 how to force page refresh
,
ie11 css refresh
,

ie11 force refresh

,

ie11 force reload

,

ie11 reload css

Click on a term to search for related topics.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:08 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com