Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Senior Member duck444's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    402
    Member #
    751
    Liked
    2 times
    I just added a news script to the bottom of some of the pages for a web site I'm working on and all the headline links are so small I can't read them. I specified a value of 55% for link size (didn't want to use px because I want user to be able to alter text/link size) but, although the other links on the page are the size I want, the headline links in the Yahoo news scripts are all tiny. Anyone know an easy work around? Thanks.


    duck

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member igeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    202
    Member #
    11644
    you can use ems instead of pixels to resize text..
    do you have a link or some code?

  4. #3
    Senior Member duck444's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    402
    Member #
    751
    Liked
    2 times
    I tried ems first but I forget why I decided to go with %. Would ems not effect the script links? Sorry I intended to include a link but I must have forgot.

    edit: url deleted fixed

    The small links are in the orange yahoo news section above some of the news item pictures. You have to scroll down to see it. Thank you

  5. #4
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Try putting said script in a container and then styling the font size on the container.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  6. #5
    Senior Member igeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    202
    Member #
    11644
    maybe you could try to use the !important in css to override
    Make sure the font is not getting two sizes applied to it..
    Double check that only one font css attribute is being applied to the header font.

    Code:
    font-size: 0.9em !important;

  7. #6
    Senior Member duck444's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    402
    Member #
    751
    Liked
    2 times
    Quote Originally Posted by filburt1
    Try putting said script in a container and then styling the font size on the container.
    You mean like div, #box, or .span? tried that. zero effect. I think the trouble with that is it's a script to external content, i guess.


    Quote Originally Posted by igeek
    "font-size: 0.9em !important;"
    should put this in the css or maybe I should apply it directly as a declaration to the script tag?

  8. #7
    Senior Member igeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    202
    Member #
    11644
    hey.. man..

    ok.. i think i found whats going on..i took out this code and the font size whent back to normal. you were declaring a:link which will style all links on the web page.. if you want to style the other links (not the header text in yahoo news) then create a class and style them that way.

    Code:
    font: bold 50%  arial;
    you dont need to specify a font size here because its already coming to you styled (i think)..maybe somewhere in the XML..

    so whats happening is that header font is getting two attributes applied to it..the !important might still work though..and yes you would put it in the css file
    if you need more explaniation just let me know..would be glad to help..

  9. #8
    Senior Member duck444's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    402
    Member #
    751
    Liked
    2 times
    Okay I fixed the news headline links using:

    #box:visited { font: bold 50% arial; color: #0000ff;
    text-decoration: none; }
    #box:active { font: bold 50% arial; color: #0000ff;
    text-decoration: none; }
    #box:hover { font: bold 50% arial; color: #0000ff;
    text-decoration: underline;}
    #box:link { font: bold 50% arial; color: #0000ff;
    text-decoration: none;}

    for the non-script text links.

    But now the non-script links comprised of two words are wrapping in internet explorer i.e. the second word in the link is on the next line. I tried "no wrap" but that didn't stop it. Is there another declaration I can add to stop this?

    Use Internet Explorer when viewing and you'll see what I mean:

    edit: url deleted fixed

    Also, for no good reason, in mozilla the link underline attribute is behaving random. I have it set for underline on hover but some links won't until they are visited. very strange.

  10. #9
    Senior Member igeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    202
    Member #
    11644
    the headlines still look the same in IE..im using V6?

  11. #10
    Senior Member duck444's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    402
    Member #
    751
    Liked
    2 times
    The headlines are fixed. they look good. It's the other links now. I guess you'd call them "channesl"?? In IE they wrap if they are two word links.


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:19 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com