Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Senior Member Tech0rz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Northwest, Eng
    Posts
    128
    Member #
    7314
    target "_blank" doesn't seem to work with FF. How do you enable pages to open in new tabs in FF?

    Thanks,

    -Tech =o

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member karinne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Aylmer QC Canada
    Posts
    1,607
    Member #
    4335
    Liked
    8 times
    You can't ... with CSS3 you will but no browser support CSS3 yet ... and that might be quite a while! :disappointed:
    [a web design portfolio - Currently NOT AVAILABLE for work | web design | Re-coding | PSD-to-HTML]
    I'm also on: virb - facebook - twitter - flickr - del.icio.us

  4. #3
    Senior Member Tech0rz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Northwest, Eng
    Posts
    128
    Member #
    7314
    Quote Originally Posted by karinne
    You can't ... with CSS3 you will but no browser support CSS3 yet ... and that might be quite a while! :disappointed:
    Damn, what about just a new window ?

  5. #4
    Senior Member karinne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Aylmer QC Canada
    Posts
    1,607
    Member #
    4335
    Liked
    8 times
    Technically you can't use the target="" attribute either but if you have the XHTML Transitional DOCTYPE target="_blank" should still work.

    Here's a good article: The target attribute and opening new windows.
    [a web design portfolio - Currently NOT AVAILABLE for work | web design | Re-coding | PSD-to-HTML]
    I'm also on: virb - facebook - twitter - flickr - del.icio.us

  6. #5
    Senior Member Shani's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,140
    Member #
    8171
    karinne... fantastic links, I feel educated & cutting edge now.

    Tech0rz, if your code has the same syntax error as your post, your problem will be resolved with an = sign.
    HTML Code:
     target="_blank"
    It works, I use for external links all the time.
    Shani

    I have an eye for detail like you'd never believe.

  7. #6
    Senior Member Tech0rz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Northwest, Eng
    Posts
    128
    Member #
    7314
    So target is actually a function aimed at frame users, hmm. I don't really want to use Javascript, although if I must...

    The link I want to open in a new window is a 'get flash' link. The site is selling a service so I want to avoid all possibility that they will get drawn away from the site via the original window.

    @ karinne

    Thanks for the link!

    @ DCScene

    Yea that was a typo =P

    I'm still undecided about how to go about it, hmm.

    Thanks,

    -Tech =o

  8. #7
    Senior Member Shani's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,140
    Member #
    8171
    Quote Originally Posted by Tech0rz
    So target is actually a function aimed at frame users, hmm. I don't really want to use Javascript, although if I must...
    NO! and NO! You can target a frame, but you can use target without frames. No javascript required.

    I really don't understand why it's not working. I have never had a problem, could you send a link?
    Shani

    I have an eye for detail like you'd never believe.

  9. #8
    Senior Member karinne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Aylmer QC Canada
    Posts
    1,607
    Member #
    4335
    Liked
    8 times
    Technically yes DC but the target attribute wasn't suppose to be used the way most use it ... as a simple attribute to open a new window. It's intended to be used with frames. Hence the reason why looking for the frame attribute definition on the W3 site, it's located in the frame section

    Kinda like the table element that we've hacked away to use for layout.

    but still ... show us some code Tech, 'cause it should work anyways
    [a web design portfolio - Currently NOT AVAILABLE for work | web design | Re-coding | PSD-to-HTML]
    I'm also on: virb - facebook - twitter - flickr - del.icio.us

  10. #9
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,693
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    How about using <iframe> inline frame instead of a frame?

    Much easier to use actually, and you can target the <iframe> just fine.


  11. #10
    Senior Member karinne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Aylmer QC Canada
    Posts
    1,607
    Member #
    4335
    Liked
    8 times
    I don't think he's dealing with frames/iframes at all just a regular page trying to open a new window.

    Code:
    <a href="link.html" target="_blank">bla</a>
    should work just fine
    [a web design portfolio - Currently NOT AVAILABLE for work | web design | Re-coding | PSD-to-HTML]
    I'm also on: virb - facebook - twitter - flickr - del.icio.us


Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:01 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com