Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Haifa
    Posts
    22
    Member #
    10582
    The initial design for http://auto-car.info is giving me some headaches. This is the first site that I've designed in CSS, so this may be simple. The google ads are going below the fold in Firefox, while IE, Opera, and Konqueror are displaying the site as I intended. Why could this be? Thanks.

    Dotan Cohen

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,693
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    Here is my solution ....

    I needed to actually try it to test it out ...

    http://www.catpin.com/auto.htm


    Always remember to create your sites with FireFox and then make
    them work for IE (not the other way around).

    I used a simple approach ... display the columns in order from left to right.


  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Haifa
    Posts
    22
    Member #
    10582
    Thanks, Mlseim. As I am on Linux, I do develop first for Firefox and then patch for IE. However, this design worked, and then I somehow broke it in FF. I'm not sure how- this is my first no-tables design (exept for the google code, of course). I had the divs in the order that they were to keep the content high in the code. But I do like your solution. Thank you very, very much.

    Dotan Cohen
    http://what-is-what.com

  5. #4
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,693
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    The position of the content is not really important with search engines.

    With your web page, I'm assuming you might be using a server-side language
    such as PHP to populate (update) a database, whether it's a flat-file text file,
    or MySQL ... in either case, you would then use PHP to actually generate your
    page "on-the-fly" dynamically.

    The content would then be "ever changing".

    Having people link to your site is probably the best thing you can do for rankings.


  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Haifa
    Posts
    22
    Member #
    10582
    Yes, I am using php on the server side. Though at the moment I am just getting the design together- the backend is mostly done but it's still on my home machine.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:26 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com