Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Member Arkantos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    66
    Member #
    10732
    hello all,

    this is my first commercial assignment. and i made some progress on the site
    http://www.sigmabit.com/sopan/testpad/
    the design have been accepted by the customers

    but there is a snag.
    http://www.sigmabit.com/sopan/testpad/faq.htm
    in this page there is a iframe on the top, made floating by a javascript code

    the iframe shows in IE & opera.
    but i cant get the iframe to show in firefox.

    what am i doing wrong?

    if there is insufficient data, do tell, i'll post the codes.

    Warm Regards,

    Arkantos.
    No bastard ever won a war by dying for his country, he won it by making the other poor dumb bastard dying for his country.
    General George S. Patton (US Army)

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,720
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    718 times
    This line is missing some quotes:
    <META content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" http-equiv=Content-Type>

    Should be like this:
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />


    Put this line:
    <script type="text/javascript" src="nav.js"></script>

    Before the </head> line ... and it's constructed incorrectly ...

    should be like this:
    <script language="javascript" type="text/javascript" src="nav.js"></script>
    </head>


    That's as far as I got ... too many nested tables for me ...
    Fixing the problems above might correct the problem though ...


  4. #3
    Member Arkantos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    66
    Member #
    10732
    mlseim,
    thank you for replying.

    i changed the meta tag like you said.
    page was loading in okay in opera and IE, not in firefox (iframe was not loading)

    now i moved nav.js to inside the head tag
    now the floating iframe became stationary in IE and opera and in firefox it was the same as before.

    as for the nested tables, i'll try to straighten them out, but they seem to be loading fine in all 3 browsers.

    Warm Regards,
    Arkantos.

    PS. the server is running IIS
    No bastard ever won a war by dying for his country, he won it by making the other poor dumb bastard dying for his country.
    General George S. Patton (US Army)

  5. #4
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,720
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    718 times
    The problem is in your javascript file (nav.js).

    As an experiment, I just put in this part:

    var iframetag='<iframe id="masterdiv" src="nav.htm" width="100%" height="80" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" hspace="0" vspace="0" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" align="center" style="position: relative; "></iframe>'
    document.write(iframetag)


    and it shows up on both browsers (but does not stay in position like you want).

    So, you have some browser compatibility issues. I noticed that you are doing a lot
    of browser checking and hacking to make it work with IE and some Opera stuff ...

    That's a big problem with fancy javascripting ... you'll have problems rendering in
    all browsers. And what happens if someone has their Javascripting turned off?

    Is it real important that you have the <iframe> stay "stuck" on the top of the
    browser? I don't understand the point of that.

    PS ... this is the test on my webhost: http://www.catpin.com/faq.htm


    .


  6. #5
    Member Arkantos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    66
    Member #
    10732
    mlseim,
    many many thanx for helping me out.

    this floating banner is a requirement of the client. i tried to make them understand differently, but they are adament. oh well.

    cant help on this.

    i checked nav2.js on your server but that doesnt contain the codes for floating.

    something has to stay stuck to the top of the page, is there any other way to do it?

    everything else is rendering fine on all three browsers except this.
    what can be the problem?

    Warm Regards,
    Arkantos.
    No bastard ever won a war by dying for his country, he won it by making the other poor dumb bastard dying for his country.
    General George S. Patton (US Army)

  7. #6
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,720
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    718 times
    You're right ... I took away the floater to test it out.

    I'll see if there's another way to do it that is browser compatible.

    Until then, maybe someone else will pop-up with a solution.


  8. #7
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,720
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    718 times
    WOW!

    I didnt' expect this to work, but it did!

    I grabbed a pre-existing script from DynamicDrive and stuck it in there with
    your <iframe> inserted. And it works on Both IE and Firefox!

    See my Example: http://www.catpin.com/faq.htm


    You no longer need "nav.js", but you could put all of the DynamicDrive Javascripting
    into that file instead of having it all in the <head> section.

    Knock yourself out man ... I'm amazed it worked myself.


  9. #8
    Senior Member straight_up's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pennsylvania/Arizona
    Posts
    601
    Member #
    4309
    fyi they had this on About.com and it was annoying as hell.
    Just a heads-up.
    I would never tolerate that thing sliding all over when I scroll -- Perhaps a nicer option is to make it position: fixed; at least in everything except IE.
    I am Alan Hogan (@alanhogan on Twitter). I like PHP, UI/UX design, and OS X.

  10. #9
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,720
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    718 times
    Straight_Up ... I totally agree, but it sounds like his client requires it.

    ... what's a guy to do?


  11. #10
    Member Arkantos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    66
    Member #
    10732
    mlseim, you are a genius!

    thank you, thank you for solving this problem.
    i copied the code, so can safely delete the files on your server.

    in gratitude,
    Arkantos.

    @ straight up,
    i hate floaters too. but what can i say, the client wants it, end of story.
    No bastard ever won a war by dying for his country, he won it by making the other poor dumb bastard dying for his country.
    General George S. Patton (US Army)


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:52 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com