Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    22
    Member #
    13605
    I don't know why, but my layout seems to work in IE, but messes up in firefox. I am still relatively new to CSS but have been trying on and off for 2 years. I always get frustrated at these incompatibility issues and then head back to just using tables.

    www.highpoly3d.com

    Thanks in advance. I'm using Dreamweaver MX if that is any help.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    435
    Member #
    8983
    Firefox likes compliancy if you want it to render properly try making sure it is valid markup.
    HTML Code:
      <p>&nbsp;</p>
      <p>&nbsp;</p>
      <p>&nbsp;</p>
      <p>&nbsp;</p>
      <p>&nbsp;</p>
      <p>&nbsp;</p>
      <p>&nbsp;</p>
      <p>&nbsp;</p>
    also avoid redundent markup... This may also make FF choke.
    Thee Pyro Wolf

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    22
    Member #
    13605
    Well, I was using dreamweaver so I assumed the markup had to be valid. Though I am using MX and I remember a video a while ago saying there should be a certain tag in the top of each css page regarding css. It did mention that DreamWeaver MX does not insert the proper full line, but DW 8 has this fixed. I did try to find info on this missing line on google but didn't get very far.

  5. #4
    Senior Member karinne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Aylmer QC Canada
    Posts
    1,607
    Member #
    4335
    Liked
    8 times
    Your CSS is really messed up.

    position: static with float: left in a inline element (<p>)... there's your problem right there. I don't see <div...> anywhere which is what you should be using.

    Do not rely on DW to make your site... learn HTML and CSS and do it yourself ... properly.
    [a web design portfolio - Currently NOT AVAILABLE for work | web design | Re-coding | PSD-to-HTML]
    I'm also on: virb - facebook - twitter - flickr - del.icio.us

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    435
    Member #
    8983
    Do not rely on DW to make your site... learn HTML and CSS and do it yourself ... properly
    I must agree with that opinion no program can substitute a solid knowing of web desgin
    Thee Pyro Wolf

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    22
    Member #
    13605
    Ok, I will try to avoid the wysiwyg stuff. I added in the Divs while testing offline and they made no difference whatsoever. It still looked the same in IE and Firefox. I tried fiddling with a lot of things today, and still this seems like a tuff nut to crack.

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    22
    Member #
    13605
    Ok problem is fixed. Stupid IE...

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    22
    Member #
    12343
    Well c`mon, tell us the solution.....


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:16 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com