Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    14029
    Hi all,
    I'm having problem with a layout I'm creating.
    I'm using round corners for some boxes, but ie has problems (firefox is fine).
    Layout under development is here:
    http://gecon.selfip.net:8088/info-world.gr/index.html


    The problem is that when the box "Content4" in there, the big container's (gray box) left border gets out of the box in ie6. When "Content4" is removed, the left border is ok on both browsers.

    Any ideas?

    Thank you...

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Karloff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    744
    Member #
    11702
    can't see the page

    the connection is timing out?

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    14029
    Just tested the URL again from 3 different servers and it is working fine.

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    14029
    Ok... Found out what this was.
    I needed not just a <div style="clear:both;"></div> to clear things out as I was using, but a:
    <div style="clear:both;width:100%"> </div> to do the job.

    G.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    Just mentioning, it's a bad idea to use inline styles like that ;-)

  7. #6
    Senior Member glyakk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,263
    Member #
    3828
    Liked
    6 times
    Just for the sake of argument, using inline styles like that is perfectly withen the guidlines of proper use. Not the best practice though I will admit..


  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    Mmm... I can think of only one reason where an inline style is justified, and it's when you need to set a `display: none' which can be overridden by Javascript. Placing this in a stylesheets is not effective (the stylesheet setting will override the JS setting). Other than that, everything being in a stylesheet file is not only doable, I consider it to be Better (tm) :-)


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:26 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com