Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    15
    Member #
    14019
    I've been looking through a bunch of websites because I was sure the answer was out there, but.... alas. Anyways, I have it working well in FF, but in IE6 the gradient repeats. Any ideas?
    -Jonny

    http://mason.gmu.edu/~sperez1/portfo...lio/port3.html

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Shani's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,140
    Member #
    8171
    I'm on a mac so I can't really see the issue on-screen. But, looking at your code, on body you have [minicode]repeat-x: top[/minicode] which does not exist. It should be [minicode]repeat: repeat-x[/minicode].

    I also noticed a few other errors:
    a misspelling of Helvetica
    using Book Antiqua without specifying alternatives
    [minicode]color: fff[/minicode] needs a #.

    Check out your code in the CSS Validator.
    Shani

    I have an eye for detail like you'd never believe.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    19
    Member #
    14116
    I'm not sure if this will fix your problem but you might give this a try.
    Leave your repeat x in place and set repeat y to none. I use a MAC 99.99% of the time but happened to be on a WIN machine tonight using IE 6.X.
    I have noticed before that if you have a background image that looks perfect with firefox on a MAC that with IE you still have to include the none attribute.
    Hope this helps.
    Web Designer and Telecom Engineer
    eCommerce Shopping Cart Solutions

  5. #4
    Senior Member Shani's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,140
    Member #
    8171
    NO NO NO NO NO!

    You cannot set ANYTHING on repeat-x or repeat-y, those are not properties they are values. You can only set the property background-repeat to any of these four values: no-repeat, repeat, repeat-x, or repeat-y. Any thing else would be wrong by CSS2 standards.

    More on background-repeat property.
    Shani

    I have an eye for detail like you'd never believe.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    15
    Member #
    14019
    DCScene actually got it right! I switched the color values to #fff too
    Using this : background-repeat: repeat-x;
    it worked.
    Danks


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:36 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com