Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    I hope this is in the right place. I was just wondering if I could have some recommendations on the best way to learn web design- HTML. For example any books that would be good? I am easily self-taught, but really don't know much about design. I have been searching around for some books, but most seem to be old ( 1998-1999). Not sure if the same rules apply or not.
    My experience is I HAVE "designed" some web sites and run a few. However, I have been limited to WYSIWYG and copy&paste provided code,etc. I have been pretty successful at web marketing and SEO ( for someone with no design skills, anyway) but the quality of my sites has been hurting me IMO. I know how to get visitors, but I want to make sure the sites my visitors see are programmed correctly, look good,etc. I would also prefer to learn to do this myself.
    Any pointing in the right/starting direction is appreciated.

Member #
    Liked
    8 times
    Books

- see the recommended books from Roger Johansson ... pretty much all the books in there are good to have.

Sites

- CSS tags on my delicious links
    [a web design portfolio - Currently NOT AVAILABLE for work | web design | Re-coding | PSD-to-HTML]
    I'm also on: virb - facebook - twitter - flickr - del.icio.us

Member #
    Thank you.

Member #
    Everyone is different. You may learn more/better/faster by picking up a book. Or taking a class at a local college/trade school.
    Or you can visit many of the sites on the internet to learn HTML (and other coding).
    If you are looking at the local book stores (new books) you should be able to find some more recent coding books.
    Amazon is a good place as well.