Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    i need to build an ecommerce site for my body jewelry business and i'm wondering what program(s) to use. i've been reading in various forums that most people hate frontpage and prefer dreamweaver or note pad. i'm just now researching html, so i'm a total beginner.

i've read that frontpage adds a lot of redundant tags. what's wrong with this? does it take the site longer to load or what? can i just use frontpage (i already have it and don't want to buy something else unless i really need to) and edit out the extra stuff (once i learn what that extra stuff is)?

basically, i'll have text, pictures, links, a shopping cart, and an auto-responder. thanks for any input, Reuben

Member #
    Liked
    21 times
    Frontpage has a reputation for writing crap code and code that usually displays better in IE. Dreamweaver generates much better code.

Anybody who thinks Notepad is the best editor ever is not a good programmer, period. Notepad can't even auto-indent. Programs like Dreamweaver are designed to make universally compliant code. You should start by knowing HTML, though, and not relying on the WYSIWYG features.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

Member #
    At one point, I almost based my site on being notepad-only... :-[
    - Brian

Member #
    Anybody who thinks Notepad is the best editor ever is not a good programmer, period. Notepad can't even auto-indent. Programs like Dreamweaver are designed to make universally compliant code. You should start by knowing HTML, though, and not relying on the WYSIWYG features.
    Yes, notepad is very bad... Which is why I use VIM :-D