Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    49
    Member #
    14674
    Hi there,

    I am currently putting together a website and have run into some trouble regarding how my navigation links are coming up on on IE6.

    Now, I am using a dodgy stand alone version of IE6 so the problem may lie there, I don't have this problem on IE7 or any other browser and was wondering if you could tell me if this may be due to a bug on IE6 and how it could be remedied.

    OK, I have:

    Code:
    <div id="header">
      <div align="left"><img src="images/logo.jpg" width="300" height="100" alt="****" /></div>
    </div>
    <div id="navbar">
     <a href="/" title="Home">Home</a> -  <a href="webdesign.html" title="Webdesign">Web Design</a> - <a href="links.html" title="Links">Links</a> - <a href="contactme.html" title="Contact Me">Contact Me</a>
    </div>
    And the following CSS rules associated with those DIVs:

    HTML Code:
    #header {
        width: 300px;
        float: left;
        margin-right: 10px;
        padding-bottom: 0px;
    }
    #navbar {
        margin-right: 0px;
        text-align: center;
        padding-top: 60px;
    }
    #navbar a:link, a:visited {
        color: #0066CC;
        text-decoration: none;
    }
    #navbar a:hover, a:active, a:focus {
        color: #0066CC;
        text-decoration: none;
        background-color: #EAEAEA;
    }
    As I have said, it works as it should on all browsers, but on IE6 the links aren't visible until I hover my mouse over where they are and click on them... Can anyone spot any problems?

    Please help!

    Thank You

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Ferro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    386
    Member #
    14204
    Liked
    5 times
    " a href="/" "

    Interesting - I've never seen this before.
    I'm familiar with :

    " a href="#" "

    but not the one you used. What does "/" do?

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    49
    Member #
    14674
    It's a relative URL, takes you to your sites homepage (index.html/.php etc) in the root directory on the server.

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    Any chance you could post a sample page so we can test it out?

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    49
    Member #
    14674
    Hi, sure, I should really of done that originally.... I have zipped up the page with the stylesheet.

    The layout has gone a bit dodgy because I have removed some things I would like to keep private, but the key thing is the navigation links...

    Thank You

  7. #6
    Senior Member Kayo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brampton Ontario
    Posts
    416
    Member #
    14523
    Liked
    39 times
    include the image files in the zip file next time.

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    49
    Member #
    14674
    There is only one image at the moment - a logo, and it not being there doesn't make a difference, the navigation links still won't show up on ie6 on my computer.

  9. #8
    Senior Member Kayo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brampton Ontario
    Posts
    416
    Member #
    14523
    Liked
    39 times
    hmmm... I see the links... maybe the image is doing something to the links.

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    49
    Member #
    14674
    Quote Originally Posted by Kayo
    hmmm... I see the links... maybe the image is doing something to the links.
    I assume you mean you can see them in IE6?

    I am running a dodgy stand alone version of IE6 and can't see them, but am hoping this dodginess is the reason and not bad coding on my part.

  11. #10
    Senior Member Kayo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brampton Ontario
    Posts
    416
    Member #
    14523
    Liked
    39 times
    yes. I do mean I see them is IE6. I hate it too. its a pain. I learn to use this
    HTML Code:
    <!--[if gte IE 6]>
    ...
    <![endif]-->
    you could even put it in the head and use it for css
    HTML Code:
    <!--[if gte IE 6]>
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="if_ie6.css" />
    <![endif]-->
    as Microsoft makes bad, widely used programs, we have to learn to go with it.


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:05 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com