Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    62
    Member #
    4758
    i'm wondering if it is possible to use an imported Style to input text automatically into a DIV. i'm hoping to use it to automatically put my navigation bar links all in. Is this possible?
    - flipjargendy

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    Can't do that with CSS.

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    62
    Member #
    4758
    Just curious then. Could i use Java to write data to a specific DIV? Or is there any way to do this? i probably won't use Java for just a little navbar but it's nice to know for future reference.
    - flipjargendy

  5. #4
    Senior Member -chris-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    SK
    Posts
    1,205
    Member #
    13102
    Have you considered a PHP include?
    Portfolio | Blog | Twitter

    Was my post, or someone elses, helpful? Click the thumbs up to let everyone know!

  6. #5
    Senior Member Steax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Bandung, Indonesia
    Posts
    1,207
    Member #
    14572
    Java or Javascript? I suppose javascript. Yes you can, but then if someone has javascript turned off (and this can include search engine crawlers), they won't see any navigation. To do this you need the innerHTML property, which, while isn't recommended, can be used.

    CSS is just for styling, it's not for content. The cleanest way would be via a server-side language, which is really, really simple.
    Note on code: If I give code, please note that it is simply sample code to demonstrate an effect. It is not meant to be used as-is; that is the programmer's job. I am not responsible to give you support or be held liable for anything that happens when using my code.

  7. #6
    Senior Member leprechaun13's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    487
    Member #
    10058
    Id go with chris and use a php include like this

    PHP Code:
    <?php
    include ('somedir/somefile.php');
    ?>
    the same follows for anywhere in the files

    and note that if the file that is being included contains PHP you MUST remeber to use the PHP opening tags again.
    Regards Phil,


  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    62
    Member #
    4758
    Thank you guys so much for the input! i am not familiar at all with PHP so i didn't know if that was an option or not. i'll give it a try soon. Thank you all again :-)
    - flipjargendy

  9. #8
    Senior Member Steax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Bandung, Indonesia
    Posts
    1,207
    Member #
    14572
    If your server supports it, then PHP is always an option - that solution is absolutely invisible to your users.
    Note on code: If I give code, please note that it is simply sample code to demonstrate an effect. It is not meant to be used as-is; that is the programmer's job. I am not responsible to give you support or be held liable for anything that happens when using my code.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:59 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com