Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Hyperlinks

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    21
    Member #
    14657
    I have created a site with about 200 pages. I would like to change the hyperlink properties so they each open in another window. I know how to change each page, but I'm wondering if there is a way to change the whole site at once to save some time.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,354
    Member #
    1326
    Sorry but no, you will have to edit each file for each link.

    What you could do though, incase you want to change from current window to new window every so often, is create some server side code, that simply assigns a variable either _self or _blank , _blank meaning new window.

    Then in all your links you would assign the attribute target the value of the variable.

  4. #3
    Senior Member raspberryh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Erie, PA
    Posts
    882
    Member #
    7208
    Liked
    1 times
    I think the easiest way is with the <base target="_blank">. But since you need it on every page, it may be easiest to do a dreamweaver (or some other wysiwyg editor) site-wide find and replace, and do something like

    find:
    </title>

    replace with:
    </title>
    <base target="_blank">

    ...that way you'll insert <base target="_blank"> into every page of your site, in a matter of seconds.
    choosy developers choose gif!
    website | paintings | blog

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    21
    Member #
    14657
    Quote Originally Posted by raspberryh
    I think the easiest way is with the <base target="_blank">. But since you need it on every page, it may be easiest to do a dreamweaver (or some other wysiwyg editor) site-wide find and replace, and do something like

    find:
    </title>

    replace with:
    </title>
    <base target="_blank">

    ...that way you'll insert <base target="_blank"> into every page of your site, in a matter of seconds.
    I cannot find anyway to do this site wide. I don't really use dreamweaver and I don't see that function in frontpage/expression web. I know I can change each pages hyperlinks, so that is what I might have to do.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    Code:
    # sed -e "s/<\\/head>/<base target="_blank"><\\/head>/" --in-place *
    But then, if you're using FrontPage, this is about ten times more useless than raspberryh's suggestion :-P

  7. #6
    Senior Member raspberryh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Erie, PA
    Posts
    882
    Member #
    7208
    Liked
    1 times
    Or if you just use Dreamweaver this ONE time (even just a trial version) all you do is Ctrl(Cmd) + F and the find window comes up and you can do your find and replace there.

    Here's an explanation.

    ...But I also like Shadowfiend's idea. I think you should try it.
    choosy developers choose gif!
    website | paintings | blog

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    21
    Member #
    14657
    I just realized that not every link on every page needs to open in a new window. I love learning new shortcuts, but I think I'm going to have to bear down and do each one seperate.

    Thanks for the help though

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4
    Member #
    15153
    Use a dream weaver..
    You need to follow these steps
    Go edit >Find and Replace
    Find in: Entire Current Local site
    Search: Source Code
    Find: a href="yourlink"
    Replace: a href="yourlink" target="_blank"

    Click on Replace all.

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    Well, aside from the fact that dantheman's already said he doesn't have Dreamweaver, raspberryh's solution results in less generated code => smaller filesizes :-)

  11. #10
    Senior Member tonyf12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    132
    Member #
    14998
    Quote Originally Posted by raspberryh
    Dreamweaver this ONE time (even just a trial version)
    .
    They pulled all trial versions of 8 off their site, they don't have the CS3 trials up yet and they hadn't let anyone else host the trial versions so you can't get any.


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:57 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com