Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    15346
    Hey there, I recently re-vamped my website at http://www.jadennyberg.com and I am have troubles getting it to work in Internet Explorer. It works fine in Firefox and Safari. The alignment seems to be off or something. If someone could please help with my script I would be ever so grateful!

    Thanks,
    Jaden

  2.  

  3. #2
    Member KillaTeddyX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    81
    Member #
    14455
    Hi jadennyberg, as many people especially here will tell you don't try to use tables for layout as it can have horrible consqences, I have spent time redoing the code for you I have tested it in Firefox, Opera, IE 7 and it displays just fine.

    HTML Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
    <title>Untitled Document</title>
    <style type="text/css">
    <!--
    body {
        background-color: #000000;
    }
    #Layer1 {
        position:absolute;
        left:11px;
        top:21px;
        width:893px;
        height:499px;
        z-index:1;
    }
    #Layer2 {
        position:absolute;
        left:16px;
        top:23px;
        width:776px;
        height:19px;
        z-index:2;
    }
    #Layer3 {
        position:absolute;
        left:67px;
        top:32px;
        width:810px;
        height:36px;
        z-index:3;
    }
    #Layer4 {
        position:absolute;
        left:67px;
        top:151px;
        width:230px;
        height:251px;
        z-index:2;
    }
    .style2 {color: #FFFFFF;
    vertical-align:text-bottom;}
    #Layer5 {
        position:absolute;
        left:53px;
        top:404px;
        width:265px;
        height:63px;
        z-index:3;
    }
    #Layer6 {
        position:absolute;
        left:349px;
        top:105px;
        width:532px;
        height:375px;
        z-index:4;
    }
    -->
    </style></head>
    
    <body>
    <div id="Layer1">
      <div id="Layer3"><img src="Graphics/button1.jpg" alt="home" /><img src="Graphics/button2.jpg" alt="gallery" width="85" height="25" /><img src="Graphics/button4.jpg" alt="portfolio" width="99" height="25" /><img src="Graphics/button3.jpg" alt="info" width="41" height="25" /><img src="Graphics/storebutton.jpg" alt="store" width="85" height="25" /><img src="Graphics/menu-right.jpg" alt="logo" width="405" height="25" /></div>
    </div>
    <div id="Layer4">
      <p class="style2" align="left"><tt>&quot;We
        photographers deal in things which are continually vanishing, and when
        they have vanished there is no contrivance on earth can make them come
        back again. We cannot develop and print a memory.&quot;</tt></p>
      <p class="style2" align="left"><tt>Henry Cartier-Bresson<br />
      </tt><tt>1908 - 2004</tt></p>
    </div>
    <div id="Layer5">
      <div align="center"><img src="Graphics/enterbutton.jpg" alt="enter" width="100" height="25" /></div>
    </div>
    <div id="Layer6"><img src="Graphics/splashpage.jpg" alt="pic" width="525" height="475" /></div>
    </body>
    </html>
    I haven't added any of the behaviours or anything like that, yes this is just one page but it will show you that you can get the design you want just not with tables. Also one more thing, I know I haven't done it in the above code but this is just an example, you should use % instead of pixels as % will display to that monitors resolution, remember it might look good on your 1024X768 but it will look very different on a smaller monitior.

    Hope this helps (Props would be appreciated)

  4. #3
    Senior Member -chris-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    SK
    Posts
    1,205
    Member #
    13102
    Wow, that was nice of you Teddy!

    Why did you name everything Layer*? Why not give everything a descriptive title (like #content, #foot, #logo)? It would make things a bit easier to troubleshoot.

    Not trying to be a pain, just offering my opinion, for what it is worth.
    Portfolio | Blog | Twitter

    Was my post, or someone elses, helpful? Click the thumbs up to let everyone know!

  5. #4
    Senior Member Steax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Bandung, Indonesia
    Posts
    1,207
    Member #
    14572
    Probably from Dreamweaver... A quick glance at the source shows you that it wasn't handwritten. You can usually easily differentiate handwritten and generated code.
    Note on code: If I give code, please note that it is simply sample code to demonstrate an effect. It is not meant to be used as-is; that is the programmer's job. I am not responsible to give you support or be held liable for anything that happens when using my code.

  6. #5
    Member KillaTeddyX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    81
    Member #
    14455
    Chris I basically redid the design using layers in dreamweaver I could of renamed them and it would of only took a few minutes but I was tired, I do usually name things like you mentioned but as Steax correctly pointed out I didn't handcode it I could of but I prefer to use Dreamweaver (thats why I payed for it:classic. But thank you for the advice always nice to know:classic:

  7. #6
    Senior Member -chris-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    SK
    Posts
    1,205
    Member #
    13102
    I see that it is generated after looking at it, I just looked at the thread last night and saw the response, but didn't really dig into the code.
    Portfolio | Blog | Twitter

    Was my post, or someone elses, helpful? Click the thumbs up to let everyone know!

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    15346
    Props to KillateddyX

    Thanks so much for your help. I took the css script you gave me and tried to create the same thing as you explained. The gallery I created looks like this.
    http://www.jadennyberg.com/mexico.html

    I'm just a beginner at css which is why my site was obviously created in dreamweaver in the first place. So i'm learning. Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
    the css script is here...



    body {
    text-align:center;
    background-color:#000000;
    font-family:Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
    color:#FFFFFF;
    }
    #body {
    position:absolute;
    left:11px;
    top:21px;
    width:893px;
    height:499px;
    z-index:1;
    }


    #topline {
    position:absolute;
    top:55px;
    left:30px;
    width:800px;
    height:2px;
    background-color:#FFFFFF;
    }
    #bottomline {
    position:absolute;
    top:600px;
    left:30px;
    width:800px;
    height:2px;
    text-align:left;
    font-family:Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
    font-size:10px;
    background-color:#FFFFFF;
    }
    #menu {
    position:absolute;
    top:10px;
    left:30px;
    width:auto;
    padding:10px;
    text-align:left;
    font-family:Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
    font-size:18px;
    text-decoration:none;
    background:#000000;
    voice-family: "\"}\"";
    voice-family:inherit;

    }
    a {
    color:#ffffff;
    font-size:18px;
    text-decoration:none;
    font-weight:bolder;
    font-family:verdana, arial, helvetica, sans-serif;
    }

    a:link {color:#ffffff;}
    a:visited {color:#ffffff;}
    a:hover {color:#999999;}



    #email
    {position:absolute;
    left:490px;
    top:20px;
    }

    #thumbs {
    position:absolute;
    width:218px;
    height:384px;
    top:135px;
    left:70px;
    background-color:#232323;
    }

    #image {
    position:absolute;
    width:425px;
    height:425px;
    left:380px;
    top:110px;
    }

  9. #8
    Member KillaTeddyX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    81
    Member #
    14455
    Hey jadennyberg, the link is broken. And don't stress to much if you use Dreamweaver for CSS thats what its there for just stay away as much as possible from using tables for layout. We all were new at one time or another but trust me the more you handcode/ use CSS the more you get used to it.

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    15346
    my appologies...the link is www.jadennyberg.com/mexico01.html

    thanks again

    Jaden

  11. #10
    Member KillaTeddyX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    81
    Member #
    14455
    Apart from that I personally don't tend to use HTML tag names for any of the id/class names of my css as it can get confusing decoding between the two especially when you have something set in CSS to that tag, and if I do I usually add the tag it will effect to the start for example
    Code:
    div#content{  margin-left:  10%;
                   margin-top: 5%;
                   margin-right: 10%;
                   width: 80%;
    }


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:13 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com