Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Ok, I have a very specific problem related to using sound files on my website.
    I know that audio on websites is extremely unpleasant, but I am a language teacher and this site is for helping my students with their coursework, so the audio is extremely important.
    I have been using the following code to run several small sized versions of Windows Media Player on the page.

HTML Code:
    <tbody>
    <tr>
    <td>
    <object id="mediaPlayer" classid="CLSID:22d6f312-b0f6-11d0-94ab-0080c74c7e95" codebase="http://activex.microsoft.com/activex/controls/mplayer/en/nsmp2inf.cab#Version=5,1,52,701" standby="Loading Microsoft Windows Media Player components..." type="application/x-oleobject" height="45" width="170">
    <param name="fileName" value="soundtest2.mp3">
    <param name="animationatStart" value="true">
    <param name="transparentatStart" value="true">
    <param name="autoStart" value="false">
    <param name="showControls" value="true">
    <param name="loop" value="false">
    <embed type="application/x-mplayer2" pluginspage="http://microsoft.com/windows/mediaplayer/en/download/" id="mediaPlayer" name="mediaPlayer" displaysize="4" autosize="-1" bgcolor="darkblue" showcontrols="true" showtracker="-1" showdisplay="0" showstatusbar="-1" videoborder3d="-1" src="sountest2.mp3" autostart="false" designtimesp="5311" loop="false" height="45" width="170">
    </object>
    </td>
    </tr>
    <!-- ...end embedded WindowsMedia file -->
    </tbody>
    This worked great in Internet Explorer, but for some reason not in Firefox, where whenever I loaded the page it always asked for new plugins and then couldnt find them or use them.