Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    so i am sorry right of the top i am a noob to this forum and i know centering comes up all the time in every forum, but what about z-indexing centered divs?

my goal is to have an animated flash background, with html text layered on top of it.
    i can get this to work by using absolute positioning both divs, z-idexing the text above the flash, and then rendering flash as opaque or transparent
    and it works and looks great!

but now i want to be able to center the page, and for the past 3 days i have been pulling hair out trying to get this to work but i can get the text to over lap the flash.... any div for that matter.

please let me know if you have done this beofre or if you have any pointers
    ---Nick

Member #
    Show us your code and we can help you fix it.

Conceptually it's a simple as giving a width to the div and using margin: 0 auto to center it, then using z-index: number to get it on top of anything else. But it sounds like you're aware of that.

Member #
    <code>
    body {
    font: 100% Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
    background:url(background.jpg);
    background-color: #ffffff;
    background-repeat:no-repeat;
    background-position:bottom left;
    margin: 0;
    padding: 0;
    text-align: center;
    color: #000000;
    }
    #Flashobject {
    width: 1024px;
    height:768px;
    top:0px;
    margin: 0 auto;
    border: 5px solid #000000;
    text-align: left;
    z-index:1;
    }
    #DivContent {
    top:110px;
    width: 1024px;
    height:650px;
    margin: 0 auto;
    text-align: left;
    z-index:2;
    }
    </head>
    <script type="text/javascript" src="pageimages/Realty World - Carlsbad, CA/swfobject.js"></script>
    <body>