Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    Senior Member kade119's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    532
    Member #
    14888
    Liked
    1 times
    can you use iframes ... for instance if i box on my page and want the content to change in that box.. for the whole site not to change pages.. just that box..?

    if iframes is not the solution to this.. could someone explain to me how to achieve this effect?

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    That is a potential solution. The other solution is server-side includes or PHP includes or ASP includes. These all let you change pages, but still keep your content for headers, footers and such in one place. The still other alternative is AJAX, but that's substantially more complex.

    iframes are bad because people (or search engines) may link to the frame content instead of your main page, and because there's no way to bookmark an iframed page (i.e., you just bookmark the starting page, not the current one).

  4. #3
    Senior Member kade119's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    532
    Member #
    14888
    Liked
    1 times
    so where do i start out on the PHP? got a reference script/site

  5. #4
    Senior Member Steax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Bandung, Indonesia
    Posts
    1,207
    Member #
    14572
    The three major options on remote loading have their consequences.

    iframe - use if it's something important yet not content. As I see it, that is. Because it is reliable if it wasn't due to non-bookmarkable and non-SEO.

    AJAX - for functionality yes, again content no. It can be turned off easily, so don't use it for crucial stuff.

    includes - perfect for content, as it goes into different pages while retaining simplicity. It also can't be turned off. The only downside is that a refresh must happen every time.

    For PHP includes, it's as simple as
    PHP Code:
    <?php
    include("myfile.php");
    ?>
    in any .php file on your localhost (you need Apache and PHP first).
    Note on code: If I give code, please note that it is simply sample code to demonstrate an effect. It is not meant to be used as-is; that is the programmer's job. I am not responsible to give you support or be held liable for anything that happens when using my code.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    Please keep posts in the thread they belong

    EDIT: To clarify, that was for Kade, and I moved the post to the appropriate thread

  7. #6
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,693
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    I slightly disagree with the <iframe> issue of SEO.

    I think it really depends on where the <iframe> sits in regards to content.
    How much of the content is within the <iframe> itself.

    Many times, I've use iframes to contain images ... having no effect on
    SEO rankings that I could detect. The search engines are mostly concerned
    with content, and properly layed-out pages as it pertains to content.

    Kade, please elaborate on what content you're talking about.
    Possibly provide an example page.


  8. #7
    Senior Member Steax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Bandung, Indonesia
    Posts
    1,207
    Member #
    14572
    It's non-SEO, as in it can be troublesome for content in them to be indexed. As images aren't content, then they don't count.
    Note on code: If I give code, please note that it is simply sample code to demonstrate an effect. It is not meant to be used as-is; that is the programmer's job. I am not responsible to give you support or be held liable for anything that happens when using my code.

  9. #8
    Senior Member kade119's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    532
    Member #
    14888
    Liked
    1 times
    hehe okay , heres a link.. i was going to do my pages just in the black surrounding box.. and not have the page change.. just an arrow or something to go to next page inside the given box...

    http://www.kreativ.cn/knew

    it would be nice to do it in php.. i have only a little experience in it .. thats using oscommerce.. i customized an e-commerce site.. but never really scripted
    if someone wanted to maybe define on using includes that would be great.. or if i should stick w/ iframes.. don't know ... i'll let you guys decide on which i should do.

    i understand about the php.. it mine as well be server-side right?(not that it actually would be) so would need special script to get the pages recogonized i know they can be b/c oscommerce had some seo contributions to optimize it.. maybe i could borrow some of that script?

    thanks mates

  10. #9
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,693
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    I can't describe it, so I took your images and files and crammed them
    into a test page so you can see how it works. Your box is very small,
    so not much text can fit.

    Never mind my layout ... I didn't get all of your images.

    http://www.catpin.com/kreative

    If you click on the link to view index.php, let it open and view the source code.
    You can't view the actual PHP in the real index page.

    I also had to modify your CSS stylesheet.


  11. #10
    Senior Member kade119's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    532
    Member #
    14888
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by mlseim
    I can't describe it, so I took your images and files and crammed them
    into a test page so you can see how it works. Your box is very small,
    so not much text can fit.

    Never mind my layout ... I didn't get all of your images.

    http://www.catpin.com/kreative

    If you click on the link to view index.php, let it open and view the source code.
    You can't view the actual PHP in the real index page.

    I also had to modify your CSS stylesheet.
    wow!~ thats pretty cool.. thanks man! i like the demo .. do you think i should do it with the php? or would it be better just to make each a different page?... anyone i can view that php source.. =-P email at kade@kreativ.cn if u dont mind

    u can view the site at http://www.kreativ.cn


Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:44 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com