Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: My damned menus

  1. #1
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    Here's the site: http://www.rfsmusic.com/misc/Version1/

    I have attached a picture that should help clairfy what I"m trying to do with the menus.

    Here's the trouble I get when I've tried various methods:

    -text to the right moves when a menu is selected
    -if a grey border is added to solve the above, the bottom border creates little "holes" along the bottom
    -whenever I try changing the style of the row below (the one with the border currently) my menu moves to the upper left of the table (WTF??)

    Can anyone help me? =x
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  2.  

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    92
    Member #
    1526
    Im a little confused by what you posted above. Are you trying to make the outline like you have in the picture, because i don't notice anything wrong with the menus you are using.
    If there is no god, then who pops up the next Kleenex?

  4. #3
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    Yeah exactly. I want the menus to act like the ones I have posted above. I tried and if you look at some of my source/css you'll see some code commented out of when I was *trying* to do it.
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    92
    Member #
    1526
    i looked through it, and i couldn't find how to do that. On a better not, it looks pretty cool the way you have it.

    Sorry i couldn't help. Good luck
    If there is no god, then who pops up the next Kleenex?

  6. #5
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    Brak, check out Transio.

    There, I'm doing almost what you want, using black outlines on the menus (although you can't see them because they're on a black background). If you roll over the one all the way to the right, you will see what i mean, though.

    Use them if you want.

  7. #6
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    Actually transio, I did steal your menu system I told ya in the other thread... however, I'm trying to do more than what you did
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  8. #7
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,483
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    I'm also confused by this. I don't see anything wrong with it either (except that the Links submenu is over too far to the left), unless you're trying to get a grey border around the menus themselves, in which case I don't have a clue.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  9. #8
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    Well you see... if I don't put grey borders around the menus whent hey're not selected, it pushes everything to the right when I select something because adding a border increases the cell size... That's just tacky in my book.
    The positioning of the links submenu is just a quick fix, I just left it for now.
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  10. #9
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    What I meant to say is... put a white border for the OFF state, and your gray border for your ON state in your CSS specification. That way, it will always be "shifted" and never appear to move because the border is always there (just changing color in the ON state).

    That's how i'm doing it on transio.


  11. #10
    JR
    JR is offline
    Senior Member JR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,354
    Member #
    257
    i think i had this problem

    what i did was set the cell padding to how far the text was moving
    JR


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:00 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com