Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member kade119's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    532
    Member #
    14888
    Liked
    1 times
    on my site.. u will see for ie6

    http://www.kreativ.cn

    i had a spacer to keep the menu below my fixed image .. it works in the modern browsers but ie6 doesnt use the conditional comment to change the height unless i change it to lte7 but i dont want 7 to change... any suggestions on how to fix this?

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,693
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    This is tough because I never use hacks and am not sure why hacks are needed.

    With the conditional and "behavior" instructions in there, it's hard to see what
    can be done to fix it. If it were me, I would get rid of all conditional and behavior
    lines and see what happens.

    I think you'll see that the "position:fixed;" lines will also be a problem.

    Use floats instead, and when necessary to drop down, use something like:
    <div style="clear:both;"></div>

    Program everything for FF and then adjust for IE (not the other way around).


  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    As a side note, if you do absolutely need those (and, like mlseim said, I doubt you do -- I've only had to bust conditional comments out for very advanced CSS trickery, usually involving broken PNGs), try making it lt IE 7.

  5. #4
    Senior Member kade119's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    532
    Member #
    14888
    Liked
    1 times
    thanks .. i dont think ill need it like msliem said before

  6. #5
    Senior Member imagn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    156
    Member #
    15594
    You can also use the * html for issues with IE 6...
    #somediv {

  7. #6
    Senior Member imagn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    156
    Member #
    15594
    You can also use the * html for issues with IE 6...
    #somediv {
    height: 500px;
    }
    * html #somediv {
    height: 600px;
    }
    The second one will affect the display in IE 6

  8. #7
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,693
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    Sometimes I'm able to clone a user's site on my server and make a working example,
    but this weekend, I don't have time. I do know you can make it look "just about"
    pixel perfect on all browsers (except Mac IE), without using any hacks.



Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:43 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com