Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    I'm new to CSS, layers, etc. CSS does some pretty weird stuff I must say. Maybe someone can enlighten me on a few issues.
    When I change my positioning from absolute to "relative" with auto left and margin 0, my layer description for my main layer, or "wrapper", disappears from the layer window in the CSS pallette.
    1. I'm trying to make a navbar with images and html from fireworks, and the dropshadows are surrounded by white (already tried the transparency settings in FW - crap! don't work!). So basically, no drop shadows with CSS:cry: ; you can't add spacers to a vertical nav bar. All your buttons a pushed together; when you insert the FW html file, you're entire layout falls apart and looks like some crap from Frontpage or something that crawled out from under a trainwreck. I tried applying drop shadow to the layer with CSS and I guess Dreamweaver didn't like it and the CSS gods denied me. The shadow was no show.
    I'm using nested layers, of course, because i want my contents to be absolute to the wrapper layer, which is the one that will be centered. I keep the wrapper absolute until I have designed the entire page, and then convert it to relative and set the auto margins, etc., or set them to a % to make fluid. The nested layer approach is the best method to use, I know that much for sure.