Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hi,I'm new to this great forum.Although I have a basic HTML knowledge I don't know how to create a table with different column sizes per each row.I tried the trick of creating different tables as rows but it just doen't work efficiently.Has anybody a clue about that?Thanks in advance.

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    Hmm, can you give an example of what you're trying to do? It seems like maybe tables isn't the right solution. It sounds like you want different table cells in the same column to be different widths which isn't really possible.
    But, I guess you could use colspan or something.
    choosy developers choose gif!
    website | paintings | blog

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    Yeah, this is the kind of thing you'd be wanting CSS for.

Member #
    Well,I think that's far better to describe the table. First row must have 2 cells, with different width.Second row has only one cell that occupies the whole row.Third row has 3 cells with different width, so there is no match to the width of first row cells too.I don't really know if I can create this table using pure html or I must use CSS.If the case is the latter, could you tell me how to use CSS for this purpose?Thanks a lot.

Member #
    I'd go for CSS, if possible. With CSS, you can just do something like this:

HTML Code:
    <div id="row1">
      <div id="box1"></div>
      <div id="box2"></div>
    </div>
    <div id="row2">

</div>
    <div id="row3">
      <div id="box3"></div>
      <div id="box4"></div>
      <div id="box5"></div>
    </div>