Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Senior Member kade119's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    532
    Member #
    14888
    Liked
    1 times
    okay... i have a guy who.. im creating a site.. html/css and on one of the pages they would to make text updates every so often w/o editing html.. what would be the easiest way to allow them to do this? i saw "snippets" but not sure if that would be the best route to go.. have any of you done something similiar to this?

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,354
    Member #
    1326
    It all depends, as nothing is normally as ever simple as it should be.

    make text updates every so often w/o editing html
    poses these questions
    1) What content will he be adding? Just text or multimedia elements too
    2) What does he want done with the content being replaced?
    3) Will he be the only one making updates?
    4) Possibly more questions

    The simplest option in my opinion would be to have a text file that he writes to. The page to display the content would point to this file. (A server side langauge would be needed).
    To make changes he would have to either sign into his file manager and manually edit the file, or for you to create an admin section where he can update the file via a web browser. As you can see depending on your clients requirements the scale of the project can increase/decrease dramatically.

  4. #3
    Senior Member kade119's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    532
    Member #
    14888
    Liked
    1 times
    1) text and text alone
    2) edited.. not just replaced
    3)Yes, possibly...
    4)is this how most web developers go about this?
    ... or do h tey refer to an open source?

    i mean for the most part its a static site, so should really take the time learning a CMS ?

    are most companies using a CMS for their sites?

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,354
    Member #
    1326
    Then using the method I stated is the way to go, there is no point in using a CMS as whichever you chose would come with much more features than you need out of the box.

    Do you know what technologies your website supports? If you are not sure, give us a link to your hosting provider and tell us the name of your package.

  6. #5
    Senior Member kade119's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    532
    Member #
    14888
    Liked
    1 times
    it supports php and no asp.net

  7. #6
    Senior Member kade119's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    532
    Member #
    14888
    Liked
    1 times
    i honestly bfsog have no clue on how to setup this kind of component/application w/ my site.. i only can manage my way around in php ...

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,354
    Member #
    1326
    Give me a while and I will post back.

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    96
    Member #
    15165
    Make an admin page with a textarea form named "newscontent"
    Have it post to a php page something like this

    Code:
    <?php
    
    if(!empty($_REQUEST["newscontent"]))
    {
       $text = $_REQUEST["newscontent"];
       file_puts_contents("textfile.txt", $text);
    }
    
    ?>
    Then on your front page put in some code like

    Code:
    <?php
    
    $text = file_get_contents("textfile.txt");
    
    echo $text;
    
    ?>

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,354
    Member #
    1326
    Ah, saved me a job!

    file_put_contents is php 5+.

  11. #10
    Senior Member kade119's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    532
    Member #
    14888
    Liked
    1 times
    this will only allow the to upload plain text though right? no bolds,italics.. etc.. , correct?


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:56 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com