Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member krystof's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    155
    Member #
    10668
    Liked
    6 times
    I am trying to paste a Vbulletin 'forumdisplay' page at the bottom of a standard webpage--from a remote website. I believe PHP is the way to go. But I don't know PHP. Meanwhile would like to get it running with an 'iframe'.
    HTML Code:
    <iframe src="http://starnectar.com/forumdisplay.php?f=5"
    width="100%" height="100%" 
    scrolling=auto frameborder="0" marginwidth=0>
    </iframe>
    You can see the prototype here:
    http://kwik-n-free.com/web-design/templates

    In Firefox the result is quite alright. The entire Vbulletin Forum page opens up.

    But in Explorer, the iframe stays a certain miserable little height. Can't really see the Vbulletin forum at all.

    Lots of other questions but... first of all, any little thing I can add to this iframe code to get the iframe window to open up in Explorer? Thank you anyone!

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,354
    Member #
    1326
    Give the iframe a class or an id, and set it's width and height to 100%.

    Or if you do support PHP just do
    PHP Code:
    include("http://starnectar.com/forumdisplay.php?f=5"); 

  4. #3
    Senior Member krystof's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    155
    Member #
    10668
    Liked
    6 times
    Thank you for the tips Andrew!

    I tried both methods and they don't work.... but... you have assured me that I was 'trying' the right things... Therefore... perhaps my webhost just needs to adjust some settings...? I already have PHP of course (to run the Vbulletin) but perhaps this needs adjusting for 'remote calls'...?

    The following 'iframe' commands do not seem to work in IE.
    height="100%"
    class ="forumdisplay-include"
    <style>.forumdisplay-include {height:100%}</style>
    IE result: Always the iframe window is less than 200 pixels high. This makes the target page only 20% visible. The rest must be scrolled. Height="200%" was also tried and does not help.
    The complete iframe code was as follows:
    HTML Code:
    <iframe src="http://starnectar.com/forumdisplay.php?f=5"
    width="100%" height="100%" class="iframe-forumdisplay"
    scrolling="auto" frameborder="0" marginwidth="0"</iframe>
    ...However... I have made this work by changing the height to:
    height="1000"
    (No percent '%' sign.)
    This might not adjust the size properly. But it is workable.

    ...However... the ideal is to use PHP. I think below is what you suggest, but it doesn't work. I will ask my webhost if he can make it work... Thank you.
    Code:
    <?php include("http://starnectar.com/forumdisplay.php?f=5"); ?>
    This results in the following error messages.
    HTML Code:
    Warning: include() [function.include]: URL file-access is
    disabled in the server configuration in
    /home/admin/public_html/web-design/templates/test2.php on line 162
    
    Warning: include([url]http://starnectar.com/forumdisplay.php?f=5[/url])
    [function.include]: failed to open stream: no suitable wrapper could be found in
    /home/admin/public_html/web-design/templates/test2.php on line 162
    
    Warning: include() [function.include]: Failed opening
    'http://starnectar.com/forumdisplay.php?f=5' for inclusion
    (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in
    /home/admin/public_html/web-design/templates/test2.php on line 162

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,354
    Member #
    1326
    Looks like a server issue, create a PHP file that has this code
    PHP Code:
    <?php
      phpinfo
    ();
    ?>
    And see what value include_path has, although I suspect it might be 'no value' but I cannot be sure.

  6. #5
    Senior Member krystof's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    155
    Member #
    10668
    Liked
    6 times
    Thanks to help from BFSOG and in other forums, most questions have been answered:
    1. Iframes for remote inclusion of forumdisplay works well with height="1000". Only forum modifications needed: a. for better looks, remove banner from 'header' template, b. for proper link function, add <base="_top"> to 'headinclude' template.
    2. Remote PHP includes also work after my host configured my server to "allow_url_include". However, not practical for forumdisplay pages. As an 'include' the page is no longer in the same 'relative' position as was designed. Thus all 'relative' link references and CSS are disconnected. This probably can be improved with a global edit of relative references. For the forumdisplay, this is not worth the bother, I just as soon use iframes. However I do hope to use remote PHP so that main text of weblog = main 'sticky' post of subforum. Wish me luck...
    3. Making a 'remote call' as efficient as a 'local call' between sites on the same server? Preliminary tests suggest this is possible. However, there is that pesky problem of 'relative references'. Not worth the bother unless my forum traffic becomes huge... and I can afford to hire a PHP expert....

    For the current status of this project see:
    kwik-n-free.com/web-design/templates


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:53 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com