Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hello, I am reasonably new to web designing, and I have learned that there are tools that you can use that help speed up the process of webpage design (instead of typing all the tags out yourself, I guess that the program does some of that for you, like I said, I'm new to this stuff).
    Now, my question is: "Is it worthwhile to get one of those tools?" and "If so, which ones would you guys recommend?"
    Thank you.

Member #
    Liked
    717 times
    I recommend using Google to search: free css templates

Find a template that is close to your design idea and customize it.

You of course will use Notepad and do the coding by hand.
    Code for FireFox and adjust for IE (try not to use any hacks).

The main point about today's web design is "non static pages".
    Most sites are no longer static pages. They use PHP to dynamically
    change content, databases for information, and CMS (content management
    systems) for controlling content/authoring.

By using existing CSS templates, it saves a ton of lay-out time, and then
    you can focus on graphics (the "design" part) and PHP (the "dynamic" part).

Member #
    My answer is no. Someone well versed in XHTML and CSS can crank out the code for a site as fast as the other person using the program to generate it. The person doing it by hand also has the advantage of knowing every aspect of the code and why it's there because they put it there. This greatly enhanced the developer's ability to maintain the site.