Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    12
    Member #
    16667
    Hi guys, when I try to create layers (AP divs) with Dreamweaver, everything looks great, but when I preview that in a browser, the layers change their positions.

    I am very frustrated since I've been trying to figure out why for almost 2 days, and I can't. Please help me!

    Check out this screenshot: http://www.theoutsourcingcompany.com...ges/proof1.jpg

    This is the code:

    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
    <title>Test</title>
    <style type="text/css">
    <!--
    #maincontent {
        left:186px;
        top:27px;
        width:80%;
        height:608px;
        z-index:1;
        margin: 0 auto;
        background-repeat: no-repeat;
        background-position: center center;
        position: relative;
        text-align: center;
    }
    #Name {
        position:absolute;
        left:372px;
        top:95px;
        z-index:1;
    }
    #Email {
        position:absolute;
        left:372px;
        top:140px;
        z-index:1;
    }
    #Phone {
        position:absolute;
        left:372px;
        top:185px;
        z-index:1;
    }
    .fontfields {
        font-size: 24px;
    }
    -->
    </style>
    </head>
    
    <body>
    
    <div id="maincontent">
    <form>
        <div id="Name">
              <input name="Name" type="text" class="fontfields" id="Name2" />
        </div>
        <div id="Email">
              <input name="Name" type="text" class="fontfields" id="Email2" />
        </div>
        <div id="Phone">
              <input name="Name" type="text" class="fontfields" id="Phone2" />
        </div>
        <img src="http://www.theoutsourcingcompany.com/tryarg/images/form.jpg" width="650" height="608" />
    </form>
    </div>
    
    </body>
    </html>
    If you know what the problem is, please help me. I am really confused with absolute, relative, fixed, and static positioning. I understand the concepts but I can't position the layers wherever I want.

    Thank you!

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member hyperair's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    452
    Member #
    9892
    For #maincontent, set your width to a px value. Also, set position to absolute.
    Hyperair

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    12
    Member #
    16667
    Thanks!


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:28 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com