Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Senior Member shoffman3572's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Fullerton, CA
    Posts
    137
    Member #
    16990
    I'm trying to simplify a design by constructing my home page from 4 PHP pages - those other pages contain navigation elements that will be seen on every page, so i make sence to create a separate file to make it easier to change down the road.
    For some reason my index.php, file which includes this:
    <?php include("top.html"); ?>
    and the top.html looks like this:
    <html>
    <head>
    <title>Natalie Dance Wear</title>
    </head>
    <body>
    <!-- This is the top bar navigation section - found on every page -->
    <img src="image/natalie_top.png" alt="Top Navigation" width="800" height="31" border="0" usemap="#Map">

    <map name="Map">
    <area shape="rect" coords="33,4,87,27" href="index_new.php">
    <area shape="rect" coords="92,5,233,26" href="profiles_new.php">
    <area shape="rect" coords="240,5,386,25" href="custservice.php">
    <area shape="rect" coords="394,5,468,26" href="#">
    <area shape="rect" coords="471,7,508,24" href="#">
    <area shape="rect" coords="515,6,658,24" href="retailer_new.php">
    <area shape="rect" coords="668,5,767,25" href="contactus_new.php">
    </map>
    </body>
    </html>
    top.html doesn't appear in Safari and Firefox - IE 6 and beyond this works just fine..
    Any ideas why?

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,354
    Member #
    1326
    So your index.php looks like this?

    PHP Code:
    <?php

    include("top.html");
    include(
    "navigation.html");
    include(
    "content.html");
    include(
    "footer.html");

    ?>
    In that case try commenting out individual lines and see when things start to play up.

  4. #3
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,715
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    Show us the actual link (URL) ... we can see it for ourselves and see what's wrong.


  5. #4
    Senior Member shoffman3572's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Fullerton, CA
    Posts
    137
    Member #
    16990
    Sorry - had a brain fart! It wasn't working because when I was calling the page with Safari and Firefox I was just opening the index.php file - and not having the server produce the page. IE was producing the pages because when it typed in the local network URL to our testing server e.g http://folder/index_new.php it knew where the page was and as the server produced the page, it worked. For some reason that same URL in Firefox and Safari dosn't work. Thanks for the help any way.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:05 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com