Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    24
    Member #
    17560
    i am working on a new site and test.pokertablesplus.net shows up in firefox but it doesnt load with internet explorer

    is there something in the code?

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member aeroweb99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Port Huron, Michigan
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    16468
    Liked
    1 times
    For starters, I don't see a doc type. Also, you have 2 body tags! Put all that code I gave you into one body tag.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    24
    Member #
    17560
    Okay i put it all into one body tag but my site still isnt showing on internet explorer....

    The page loads and the title shows but nothing else shows just a blank white screen. I dont understand how it loads in mozilla firefox completely fine.

    Does anyone have any idea?

  5. #4
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,717
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    718 times
    You're commenting-out the entire page .... something wrong with the red parts below ...


    <script type="text/javascript">
    <!--
    function MM_swapImgRestore() { //v3.0
    var i,x,a=document.MM_sr; for(i=0;a&&i<a.length&&(x=a[i])&&x.oSrc;i++) x.src=x.oSrc;
    }
    function MM_preloadImages() { //v3.0
    var d=document; if(d.images){ if(!d.MM_p) d.MM_p=new Array();
    var i,j=d.MM_p.length,a=MM_preloadImages.arguments; for(i=0; i<a.length; i++)
    if (a[i].indexOf("#")!=0){ d.MM_p[j]=new Image; d.MM_p[j++].src=a[i];}}
    }

    function MM_findObj(n, d) { //v4.01
    var p,i,x; if(!d) d=document; if((p=n.indexOf("?"))>0&&parent.frames.length) {
    d=parent.frames[n.substring(p+1)].document; n=n.substring(0,p);}
    if(!(x=d[n])&&d.all) x=d.all[n]; for (i=0;!x&&i<d.forms.length;i++) x=d.forms[i][n];
    for(i=0;!x&&d.layers&&i<d.layers.length;i++) x=MM_findObj(n,d.layers[i].document);
    if(!x && d.getElementById) x=d.getElementById(n); return x;
    }

    function MM_swapImage() { //v3.0
    var i,j=0,x,a=MM_swapImage.arguments; document.MM_sr=new Array; for(i=0;i<(a.length-2);i+=3)
    if ((x=MM_findObj(a[i]))!=null){document.MM_sr[j++]=x; if(!x.oSrc) x.oSrc=x.src; x.src=a[i+2];}
    }
    //-->
    </script>


  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    24
    Member #
    17560
    Okay I finished this and it still isn't showing in internet explorer. I just don't understand how it is perfectly fine in mozilla firefox but wont show anything but the page title in internet explorer

    I've made many sites, not all nice ones, but i've never had any problem like this

    p.s. you can view test.pokertablesplus.net in firefox and see how my links turned out

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    FYI, the <!-- and //--> is theoretically `correct', if outdated. Its purpose is, in essence, to comment out the script for browsers that can't handle it. But most people don't use it anymore, in large part because they try to pull their scripts out into external files.

    By the way, your site doesn't load in Firefox, either (at least not mine). You have an unclosed [minicode]style[/minicode] tag. It's on the eighth line of your file -- make sure to close it there, too, since you don't have any information in it:

    HTML Code:
    <style type="text/css"></style>

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    24
    Member #
    17560
    ahh, now it's loading for me in internet explorer but there are spaces inbetween each of my links that i would rather not have there

    thanks for the help any advice on spacing out my links and i can move on with the site

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    Try putting the img tags on the same line as the a tags.

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    24
    Member #
    17560
    That didn't seem to work...

    why would it load different in internet explorer than it would in firefox??

    This is bugging the hell out of me

  11. #10
    Senior Member tonyf12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    132
    Member #
    14998
    This page lists everything that Internet Explorer does wrong (Warning: Long list)

    http://positioniseverything.net/explorer.html


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:45 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com