Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: ? instead of

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    17672
    Hey guys. Has anyone ever come accross this. Im trying to do a price list. When i enter it looks fine in the code but when coming to view. It show up like ? in the browser. Any ideas?

    Thanks
    Wayne

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,354
    Member #
    1326
    Do you hand code the pound sign into your code like this?

    HTML Code:
    <p>That will be 10 please sir.</p>
    Or do you hand code the pound sign into your code like this?

    HTML Code:
    <p>That will be &pound;10 please sir.</p>
    The latter is the correct way to do it, here are some other common HTML entities.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    17672
    This way.

    <p>That will be 10 please sir.</p>


  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    17672
    Just tried it this way and it works.
    <p>That will be &pound;10 please sir.</p>


    Whats the reason for the first way not working?

    Thanks for your help.

    Wayne


  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,354
    Member #
    1326
    &pound; is a HTML entity.

    If you read the link I posted above it will provide information about HTML entities.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:57 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com