Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    17771
    hi guys

    for some reason in every page on the site im working on, the table headers are indenting and for the life of me i cant move them at all.
    in firefox the site is 100% working (no surprises there)
    same for safari (although i heard that it is based on the firefox engine)
    but alas, IE7 is proving to be my undoing.

    heres the link for the site if u wanna have a look:
    http://ben-sharp.co.uk/Fabs/Atheneum_Site/index.html

    also in my image gallery, in firefox when you mouseover the thumbnails, a full size version of the image appears in the right hand side box. this doesnt happen in IE7.

    my nav bar is hugging the bottom of my main div which isnt the case in FF.
    and also their sub menus are indented to the right which shouldnt happen.

    anyway ive been banging my head against a wall for 3 days now trying to fix it (this list would have been ALOT longer) and ive fixed most things but the problems listed above are beyond my capability at the moment.

    if anyone could help me out ill mail you a cookie^^

    thanks

    EDIT: i should also mention that this is a school project, im currently in week 11 of a web design course, so my code is probably crazy messy. it will get better =]

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,717
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    718 times
    Interesting because I have IE6 and it of course doesn't work ...

    But this file does not exist? CSS/ie6.css

    So, with IE6, it only has the default CSS file.

    I know this file exists though: CSS/ie7.css

    But that makes me question if you even have the right "hacks" being used.
    That leads me to the next idea that maybe you should not be using
    any "hacks" at all? Why not design a website that works on all browsers
    without any hacks?

    I think web designers and developers kill themselves with frustration,
    working on hacks ... when they don't need to do that.


  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    17771
    Quote Originally Posted by mlseim
    Interesting because I have IE6 and it of course doesn't work ...

    But this file does not exist? CSS/ie6.css

    So, with IE6, it only has the default CSS file.

    I know this file exists though: CSS/ie7.css

    But that makes me question if you even have the right "hacks" being used.
    That leads me to the next idea that maybe you should not be using
    any "hacks" at all? Why not design a website that works on all browsers
    without any hacks?

    I think web designers and developers kill themselves with frustration,
    working on hacks ... when they don't need to do that.
    hi there

    im currently working on ie6.css as im typing this.
    in reply to your post, i wholeheartedly agree. i dont think i can call myself a web designer just yet though, 11weeks of studying html/css isnt exactly a qualification.
    as you said :
    "Why not design a website that works on all browsers
    without any hacks?"

    Answer: how?

    as far as i know im not using any html side hacks. im only editing the CSS to reposition the various elements on the page. but then again i cant say i really know what defines a "hack".
    please understand ive spent my short existence on this planet learning how to be a record producer, i knew squat about web design before i signed up to this course. so im really in new territory and i think so far im doin ok but this is my first experience with having to fix a website to work in all browsers. yesterday i finally got it to work 100% in IE7 and today im working on IE6. ill upload the changes ive made so far and i would welcome your opinions.

    i must say its quite refreshing to be a complete noob in something again =]

  5. #4
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,717
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    718 times
    I guess "hack" is sort of a vague word.

    I consider a "hack" anything where you have to make a layout/display
    decision based on the user's browser. If something works in one browser
    and not another, there is usually a reason ... and in most cases, some other
    method can be used that works on all browsers.

    IE is really sucky ... so you're doing it right by developing with FireFox and
    making it work with IE. I don't have time to examine all aspects of what's
    working or not working with IE, but it usually has to do with absolute/relative
    positioning, margins, and padding.

    What happens to your site with IE5 users, and perhaps IE8 users next year?

    All said ... I think your site looks great. Especially with FireFox.

    I don't think I could have come up with something that good my first time.


  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    17771
    Quote Originally Posted by mlseim
    All said ... I think your site looks great. Especially with FireFox.

    I don't think I could have come up with something that good my first time.

    :-D:-D:-D thanks, thats a big compliment and much appreciated.
    as far as IE5 is concerned, fortunately our course administrator hasnt asked us to make a seperate stylesheet for that as well.

    i had a bit of a penny drop moment earlier.
    i realised that in my ie6 and ie7.css, i had copy+pasted my style.css and added changes to them. instead of merely writing the changes without the rest of the code which doesnt need to be there. so ive gone through my IE7.css and cleaned that up nicely and im hoping that due to this realisation ill be able to sort out the IE6 version pretty swiftly.

    i may return shortly crying for help again though lol

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    17771
    hi again

    almost done fixing the site for IE6, its not a very professional job but for the purposes of my assignment and due to time constraints, it will do.

    the only problem i really cant get my head around is on my image gallery page
    http://ben-sharp.co.uk/Fabs/Atheneum...L/gallery.html

    in firefox when you hover over the thumbnail images, that makes a full size version of the image appear in the right hand box.
    i tried making a test page with 1 thumbnail and just the basic CSS commands to see if that worked, then i could just spend some time deleting and refreshing trying to isolate the problem.

    but in IE6 even the basic hover command doesnt want to work.
    im totally stumped

    anyone got any ideas?

    thanks

  8. #7
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,717
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    718 times
    There's just no way I'm going to copy it all to my PC to experiment.

    I do have a thought though ...

    I wonder if the image is appearing underneath the one that's there (the default)?

    I wonder if this has something to do with z-index?
    http://www.last-child.com/conflicting-z-index-in-ie6/

    Experiment by eliminating the default image or making it tiny so you
    can see anything that might appear underneath, keeping the <div>
    itself the correct size.

    IE6 has problems with "child" and z-index issues as it pertains to CSS.
    Specifically, read about doing this .... z-index:-1;


    .


  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    17771
    ye i havent applied any z-indexing to the site, and i tried making a totally blank html page and just copying :

    <div id="imgDiv">
    <a href="#"><img src="../Assets/Apartments/classic1thumb.jpg"/><span id="big"><img src="../Assets/Apartments/classic1.jpg" /></span>Classic 1</a>
    </div>

    and applying this CSS

    a span#big
    {
    display:none;
    }

    a:hover span#big
    {
    display:block;
    position:absolute;
    top:-1px;
    left:549px;
    }

    but even with just this. the hover command isnt doing anything and no full size image appears even on a blank page.

    ill talk about it with my tutor tomorrow(today even) and see if we can get to the bottom of it.

    thanks for the reply nonetheless.
    }


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:18 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com