Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    241
    Member #
    15910
    Hi,
    I have the form below, as a searchox.... when I display this searchbox within another file, such as in an iframe, near some other elements, I see the searchbox, but I can not see the cursor in the searchbox, when I bring the mouse over it, except if I bing it to the very left of the box. I checked the iframe width etc and the box is well within the frame...
    When I display this form in a file by itself, it is fine, I can see the cursor wherever i bring the mouse on...Please advise...
    echo "<div class='event_display1a'>";
    echo "<form method='post' action='events_searchusa_results.php'>";
    echo "<span style='color:blue; font-family: arial; font-size:14px;'>"."Search by event name:"."</span>";
    echo "</br>"."<input type='text' name='keyword1'/>"."</br>";
    echo "<input type='submit' value='Search'/>";
    echo "</form>";
    echo"</div>";

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,720
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    718 times
    We need to see an actual example, because we don't know what
    you have for the class "event_display1a" and this might be an issue
    that is different with IE than FF.

    Let us see an actual example where it is failing for you.


  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    241
    Member #
    15910
    here is the code for the css:
    .event_display1a
    {
    position: absolute;
    top: 75px;
    left:778px;
    width: 300px;
    height: 700px;
    }
    thanks

  5. #4
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,720
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    718 times
    Since you won't show us your actual web page, I'll just have to guess
    that your <iframe> isn't large enough to handle that absolute position.

    So, I'll suggest you try this instead ....

    echo "<div>";
    echo "<form method='post' action='events_searchusa_results.php'>";
    echo "<span style='color:blue; font-family: arial; font-size:14px;'>"."Search by event name:"."</span>";
    echo "</br>"."<input type='text' name='keyword1'/>"."</br>";
    echo "<input type='submit' value='Search'/>";
    echo "</form>";
    echo"</div>";


  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    241
    Member #
    15910
    great thanks, this works...can you tell the logic behind it just for info?
    by the way, the rest of the code in that file is for something else, a calendar script, so it is irrelevant...that whole file was in an iframe on a main page, and that was where I wanted to place the search box, also by positioning with that div...now the search box is just under my calendar, as we just say <div> and dont position it, but the cursor works and it s fine for me. When I assign position to the div, for some reason then it didnt work....

  7. #6
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,720
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    718 times
    See this:

    position: absolute;
    top: 75px;
    left:778px;
    width: 300px;
    height: 700px;

    You're telling it to place that section (your search form) at an
    absolute spot on a page, which in your case was 778 pixels from
    the left side, and 75 pixels from the top (0,0 is the top left corner).

    So, when you decide to assign that class to an iframe (or frame), it
    will place it there just as you specified, but your iframe probably isn't
    large enough to handle those dimensions.

    I just had you not use that class at all.
    So it places it at the default location of 0,0 (top left corner)

    If you want to use that class again for your new layout, put it back in:
    echo "<div class='event_display1a'>";

    and then change the parameters, like this (or something like this) ...
    position is exactly where you want ...

    .event_display1a
    {
    padding-top:30px;
    padding-left:20px;
    }



Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:42 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com