Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    18138
    Hi guys and gals
    Im havin trouble getting images to work on my site, ive made numorous sites befor when using Windows xp but since ive used Vista nothing seems to gel. Ive got a bulk of the site done except when i try to make an image appear i get a small square in the corner with a square, circle and triangle shape in the shape. Im not sure what this means and im not sure if im doing something wong or if it vista acting up. As far as i an tell my coding is correct.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,354
    Member #
    1326
    The square you are talking about is how IE informs you that an image is missing, although your code has alt tags so I think you should see them instead.

    Anyway - the problem is that the path you give to your <img> tags is incorrect.

    Take the following for examoke:
    HTML Code:
    <img src="images/ghdmk4pic2.jpg" border="2" width="150" height="150" alt="GHD Ceramic Styler"  />
    That code is looking for an image called ghdmk4pic2.jpg inside a subfolder called images. Make sure that image is there.

    Is this page online anywhere so we can have a look?

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    18138
    yep, image is defo in there, Fraid not..i dont have any space as of yet, inless you no were to get some good space for free? lol

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,354
    Member #
    1326
    Okay so the image is there but are you sure the index.html is in the right folder?

    Also maybe this is an Internet Explorer/Vista issue, try viewing the page in another browser?

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    18138
    do you know of any good free web space so i could try it "live" and see if they appear as all my folder are in the corect locations etc.

  7. #6
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,717
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    718 times
    Pyro ...

    I'm wondering if the image format is wrong.
    Your image is a .jpg ... but is it really a JPG image?

    This is one problem where we really need to see it online.
    I know you want a free webhost, try www.netfirms.com

    You should really get your own website to use. You can get
    a real website with your own domain name for $30 (that's cheap).
    http://www.cleverdot.com


  8. #7
    jj1
    jj1 is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    319
    Member #
    17546
    I agree with what's been said above in that the image name and path are not correct - I've sometimes had the same problem myself and have then found a typo - or occasionally - I've had to go up/down a directory - ie path names have been wrong for that directory. I've got round this by - in Expression - dragging the image into the appropriate place and letting Expression sort out the image path for me.
    Just one point - for SEO purposes, images/ghdmk4pic2.jpg does not help your SEO. It would be better to label all images with keywords - for example, in our own website we call images "web-design-bury-st-edmunds-1.gif", "web-design-bury-st-edmunds-2.gif" etc. Hope that helps.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:58 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com