Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hi guys...

Newbie here... Hoping to start out from scratch and learn the pleasures of web design... However, my very first problem has arisen in the form of web page sizing.
    I've downloaded a template which is 775x680 and opened it up in dreamweaver, but when i preview the template in IE7 the page stays centered at the exact same size (775x680) with white borders around the whole page.
    My monitors resolution is currently set at 1440x900 which i was not wishing to change, what I am really trying to achieve is to set the page to automatically fill the browser regardless of resolution i.e. when you log onto www.play.com the site is always full width of the browser regardless of who is viewing it in whatever resolution.

Sorry for the complete lack of experience guys, we all have to start somewhere and i appreciate all help received.

Member #
    Liked
    718 times
    I actually prefer a "fixed size" web page.
    Although it centers on a large browser with space on either side,
    it makes it easier for the viewer to read, as the content is contained
    in the center portion of the monitor.

Another good thing about a "fixed size" web page is the fact that
    content placed on the page stays where you put it. No need to allow
    for fluid movement of content.

You can search Google for "CSS fluid web page template" to find
    an example of a fluid width page.

But, in my personal opinion, keep what you have.
    It's your website though, so do how you want.

Member #
    If you choose to leave it a fixed width, change the background property in your css file to a color along with the background image.
    It should read
    selector
    {
    background: url(path to image);
    }
    change it to