Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Help Please.

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    coventry
    Posts
    4
    Member #
    18272
    Hey i have made a Web Layout in Microsoft Paint and have Dragged it into Dreamweaver , How do i add Div's and Splice it As it is In dreamweaver as A Img? Please help Or tell me what ive got to do. Thanks :cross-eyed:

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member aeroweb99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Port Huron, Michigan
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    16468
    Liked
    1 times
    Dragged a bitmap into Dreamweaver? DW does not splice for one thing. Generally slicing is done through Photoshop or Fireworks and is not the way to do a website. Get the basics first. Don't be like a typical newbie and make an image, slice and dice it, put it into tables, and call it a website.
    Learn HTML
    Learn CSS

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    coventry
    Posts
    4
    Member #
    18272
    Yeah i I have made it through CSS now thanks anyway.

  5. #4
    Senior Member aeroweb99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Port Huron, Michigan
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    16468
    Liked
    1 times
    You know CSS? Should be good to go then. Are you wanting to use this as backgroung image?

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    coventry
    Posts
    4
    Member #
    18272
    I have uploaded my site i've been workin on tonight , but for some reason It goes all funny when i open it in IE but is Fine in Firefox?

  7. #6
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,693
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    Give us the link to your site, not an attached file.


  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    coventry
    Posts
    4
    Member #
    18272
    http://head-rush.webs.com/

    there it is, can any of you tell me whats going on with it? thanks.

  9. #8
    Senior Member jyuill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    145
    Member #
    18049
    Fix your validation errors and then see how it looks. You have clear:both; in your html file not within <style> tags. You have <body background> but no background specified (should be something like <body background="background.jpg">). You have a <div> start tag and an
    <img />between a <ul> and <li>, they need to be above the <ul>. This is causing all of the list items in that list to be errors. You forgot to close an <li>.You closed a <p> that doesn't exist. Then you have a <ul> for your footer information, with no <li></li>, and <strong> tag not within a <p> or <div>. The first step in coddling IE is to make sure the page validates. Then you look at your positioning, and learn about IE's crappy box model, and the 3px jog, and collapsing margins, and doubling margins/padding.....
    Semantic, Valid, and Accessible Design!


  10. #9
    Member UNarmed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    90
    Member #
    17377
    It scares me ';...;'


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:32 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com