Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    483
    Member #
    17875
    Liked
    1 times
    Hi, if you guys could please help me out, I've tried everything.

    Take a look at the attachment zip.
    It contains an html file and 2 stylesheets.

    The menu looks fine in ie7 and ff3, but in ie6 its HORRIBLE.

    I know how to use conditional comments to target ONLY ie6, but i dont know exactly how to fix it. I dont want to give the items a fixed width, because i need them each to only take up what they need (space issues).

    The item you should style in the sprymenubarhorizontal css file and its called ul.MenuBarHorizontal li and ul.MenuHorizontal li a.

    Once again, been struggling with this for hours on end.

    i usually help a lot of people on these forums, and if i could get some help once again id greatly appreciate it

    Thanks in advance!

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member jyuill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    145
    Member #
    18049
    add float: left to your ul.MenuBarHorizontal li a.
    Semantic, Valid, and Accessible Design!


  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    483
    Member #
    17875
    Liked
    1 times
    thanks! worked perfectly.

    If you don't mind, could you explain why this fixed it?
    Wouldn't floating the a left take it out of flow, and not expand the li item?

    Anyways, thanks for the fix, and if you could just let me know why ie6 acted this way, id greatly appreciate it

    THANKS!

  5. #4
    Senior Member jyuill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    145
    Member #
    18049
    Why it worked is for someone else to answer....I was just trying different things, but usually when you have a horizontal menu, the <a> is floated as well as the <li>, but has to be given a display:block; to give it height and width etc. And I was just working with a Spry menu bar, and compared your code to mine, and added things that were missing until it worked right. You probably need to clear your floats as well to keep from having problems with later elements.
    As far as IE6 behaving that way.....because it always does?????? I honestly don't know what "bug" is behind the issue.
    Semantic, Valid, and Accessible Design!


  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    483
    Member #
    17875
    Liked
    1 times
    ye, me neither. but it pissed me off a ton.

    anyways, thx for ur help really appreciate it.

    ie6 is always iffy.
    and its think its an "expanding box problem" issue.

    gotta love IE..


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:53 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com