Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Hi, I'm Beth... new to the site, need some help.

I'm designing a website for a local pizza place... and I'm having some problems with one page in particular. www.marianospizza.com/menu.html is the address to view it... basically, in firefox, the page looks great... on IE, however, the middle part of the menu goes below the other two parts and it looks horrible. I'm new to using CSS for layouts... I'm used to using HTML tables for layouts way back before CSS was the norm... can anyone help me fix this problem? I want the page to look how it looks in the firefox browser, not how it looks in the IE browser.

It's frustrating!! lol

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    beth4ever89,

Your <div id="specpizza"> is without any floating in css file. You have to float to the leftward one to another all three div-s. Itís best to arrange them in the following order.

<div id="pizza">
    <div id="specpizza">
    <div id="allelse">

float: left;

Member #
    well, the div pizza has a float: left; property, and the "allelse" div has a "float: right;" property... the div specpizza needs to be in the middle, I don't want it to float left, which is why it isn't a floating element

Member #
    Liked
    718 times
    Beth ...

Here's my shot at it:

http://www.catpin.com/pizza

I took the idea that you will want to be able to change content without
    worrying about the height. It will stretch all 3 columns regardless.

Because of the funky CSS float/height problem, I'm utilizing the famous
    "clearfix" method to trick the browsers.

View my HTML and CSS files (source) to see how it's done.

Note that I float all 3 sections "left" and inserted a "wrapper" to contain them.