Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member shawnstoppable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    20
    Member #
    19437
    I want my buttons to highlight whenever you put your cursor over it. I can't remember if there's a simple HTML trick to do this. Does anyone know?

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,656
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    137 times
    javascript. Google onhover.
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  4. #3
    Senior Member aeroweb99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Port Huron, Michigan
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    16468
    Liked
    1 times
    You need to preload them. You can use javascript to do that, or Dreamweaver has an effective code to do it if that's what your using.

    A poor man's way would be to place the hover image somewhere on the page and make it very small as far as width and height in the image tag, like 1x1 or something. That will load the image in the user's cache and then when they hover over your link, it won't flash.

    I actually did this (I'm embarrassed to say!)and it works.
    You can see it here.
    Look at the footer where it says "copyright 2009". The image to the left is actually the hover image for the main nav links at the top! Works like a charm.

  5. #4
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,693
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    Steve .....
    I have to confess I've done that too.
    But hey, it works.


  6. #5
    Senior Member aeroweb99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Port Huron, Michigan
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    16468
    Liked
    1 times
    I added the link to my previous post that i forgot to put in.

    Yeah I know it's probably bad practice. But it really seemed a better solution in my case than putting extra code in. It's just the one image and it looks like it belongs there in the footer, so what the hey!


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:41 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com