Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    20
    Member #
    19673
    Howzit guys,

    i have an issue with a website im trying to build.
    It is a fairly simple site done with tables and divs.but i have a problem with my positioning of the divs because when i open it on my pc with firefox everything is 100% fine,as soon as i open it in ie it doesnt work right.

    And if i use another pc to open it the positioning is also out.I have tried with position:relative but it doesnt seem to work unless im doing something wrong,please help out guys cause im almost done with the page and this is working on my arsch.

    The link is below,its an art site for a client so bear with me:
    http://indrabi.awardspace.biz

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,694
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    Well,

    It's not right with FF either.
    When you open the jewelry link, it's positioned mostly off the screen.

    (Jewelry, not Jewellry)

    The IE layout situation is typical with using PSD to slice images.
    You could try to eliminate unnecessary line breaks and white space in the HTML.
    IE sometimes has a problem with line breaks in the middle of an HTML tag.
    See if that helps it out any.

    You say you're almost done, but I think you have a big problem ahead,
    specifically, how to edit the site in the future. What happens when you need
    to change buttons, add photos, alter any of the pages ... will the site need to
    be totally re-done by hand?

    You didn't mention if the site is "static" or dynamically generated using PHP and
    a database of items.

    There's really no way (I can only speak for myself) any of us can duplicate your
    site and troubleshoot the positioning issues. Too hard to troubleshoot just by
    looking at it ... those sliced images and tables are too daunting.

    ==================

    Here's my advice to you.
    Start over ... I know you don't want to hear that, but read on ...

    1) Create your body background (you already did that).

    2) Create one background for the page itself (one image with nothing on it.
    no text, no buttons, etc.)

    3) Create the buttons as individual graphic images (image with a transparent
    background so they can be placed on top of the page, anywhere). Give them
    the ability to be placed without regard to shading ... so they can be put anywhere.

    4) Create your logo that goes in the middle.

    5) Now you can create <div> sections on the page to position your buttons,
    in groups. "the top banner part", "the left nav part", "the footer part".

    6) The space in the middle is for your galleries?

    Make the "index" page sort of like the template for all other pages.
    The other pages use the same code, but with different buttons, etc.


  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    20
    Member #
    19673
    ok i hear what you are saying,it seems like i have to start over..

    Thank you very much,cause i would get lost to know where to start again.

    so you advise when someone clicks on the button "wall designs" i should make a whole new page..but i need the div which i currently have to scroll through the art and still be able to see the buttons.

  5. #4
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,694
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    You have a couple of choices ..

    You could use an inline frame <iframe> to display the center part.
    That would pop into view using Javascripting. You would use PHP to
    generate the gallery (from a simple database).

    You could use PHP to dynamically generate each page (from a simple database).
    The page would refresh each time.

    To display the "full-size" photo of each thumbnail, you could use LightBox.

    In any case, you have 2 photos of each item ... the thumbnail and the fullsize.

    Work on the part where it displays your home page (without tables) and
    deal with the galleries later.

    ==============

    "The Simple Database" ...

    What does that mean?
    You put all of your photos into a directory (all by themselves).

    You then have a plain text file that lists all of the photos.
    It might be called something like: "photos.db"
    The extension could be ".txt", but I like to use ".db"

    It would look like this:

    34523|1|art1.jpg|art1_t.jpg|This is the description|$50.00
    84533|1|art22.jpg|art22_t.jpg|This is the description|$75.00

    Each item on it's own line.
    The fields are separated by pipes "|".

    The first field is an ID number of some kind (you could use a timestamp).
    $id=time();

    The next item is where it should appear (which gallery).
    You can number your galleries 1,2,3 etc.

    The next is the full-size photo.
    The next is the thumbnail photo.
    The next is a description or title
    the next could be a price, part number, etc.

    Add as many things as you need.

    Then, later on, PHP will be using "photos.db" to generate your gallery pages.
    PHP opens the file, reads each line, and writes the HTML it needs to display.

    To add items, you simply upload the 2 photos, and add a new line to "photos.db".
    You don't have to do any more HTML coding at this point.



    .


  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    20
    Member #
    19673
    the gallery part sounds like a great idea with the simple database but i think my php skills are not that great yet..so its gonna be a bit complicated.

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    20
    Member #
    19673
    what should i use for my main page to place the logo image,tables??divs??

  8. #7
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,694
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    Use <div> ... no tables.

    Get a plain page done, with body background, and page background
    and a few buttons made, and the logo. Just display them all on a webpage
    so I can see the images, and I can make a simple example for you.

    Don't worry where they appear ...
    I need to see the images so I can copy them.

    I'm not sure how you edit your web pages (HTML, CSS).
    Typically, I do all coding by hand, using Notepad or Notepad++.
    With PHP scripting, you can't view the actual pages offline.

    The PHP part is pretty easy ... you would be surprised.


    .


  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    20
    Member #
    19673
    ok kewl,i did it for some of the pics,let me know what u can do
    new url is:

    http://72.9.157.220/~sebhost/

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    20
    Member #
    19673
    ok uploaded new transparent images

  11. #10
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,694
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    Here's my first shot at it, including LightBox to display full-size images.

    http://www.catpin.com/indrabi

    I'm trying to fix the IE bug with LightBox (dark background not centered).
    And of course, I don't have full size photos of jewelry.

    View the HTML, CSS source code.



Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:14 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com