Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hello

Im fairly new to web design, well CSS anyway. :cry:

Basically ive made a site, that uses a main div called container to center a flash movie and a simple footer.

Basically, the div "container" is coloured black, and is 1000px wide, and centered in the browser. This all works fine up until this point.

However, is there a way to make the div "container" match the height of the browser window, to then hence make the black section the height of the whole window.

Also, within this how to i make my footer sit on the bottom of the browser window, i can only seem to do it if i take the footer out of the container div and then set the position:absolute, bottom:0px, but then it does not align center with the rest of my content.

you can view the page here:

http://www.webdimension.com.au/sun/

any help would be most appreciated

Thanks in advance!

Member #
    I'm pretty sure that goes beyond CSS's realm of influence. Luckily JS's HTML DOM functions provide a nice little bridge for that. You're going to need to call a custom function from both the head section and the window.onresize event and then in that function you'll need to get the window.outerHeight property and store it in a var. Then (NOW you can use CSS! :-)) you'll want to set the value of this like so:
    document.getElementById("containerdivID").style.he ight = (myVar-140) + "px";
    That 140 is just my eyeball estimate for the status bar at the bottom and the address & toolbars at the top - the sucky part is that you're going to have to figure out an average - it will probably need some tweaking but hopefully that helps you out.
    Utah Web Design { Pimpin(it); } - ENJOY yo-self

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    Breezy,