Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    19765
    I'm going crazy and hoping someone may have a solution. I am attempting to have one page on my site feed the beginning of the text into another page of the site. For example, I have a news & updates page. When I post an update, I want the first sentence or two to feed into a particular of the homepage. Simply, a script or such would feed enough text into the table, truncate the rest and there would be a static 'more' button below. Right now, I create the updates on the news page and manually enter the text on the homepage. I read there was something that could be scripted using JS from text document but when I tried, it didnt seem to work. Also, I'm trying to avoid using frames and that would take recreation of the entire site. I am using DW CS4.

    Thanks

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member diddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    502
    Member #
    16955
    can you post the JS you tried? And can we see the site? or code?

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    19765
    the site is The-Nowaks<dot>com. In the upper-right corner, you'll see 'Recent News'. If you click on 'more', that contains the page of the updates. I would like the 'news' page to feed into the homepage the first few sentences.
    I can't find the script used for the homepage but the JS I had tried was a file with the code:
    document.write("/news.html")

  5. #4
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,693
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    How are you displaying the news on the news page?
    from a database of some kind ... using PHP?

    If you're editing the web page each time you need to add news,
    that's your problem right there. You need to store the articles in
    a database and display the page(s) using that database. You'll have
    total control over it on any page, and you won't have to edit the
    static web pages anymore.

    It can be as simple as using .txt (plain text files) if you choose to
    not use MySQL. In any case, you need to do PHP scripting, which you
    can test online, but not offline (unless you have your own server).

    EDIT:
    I wanted to add that by using PHP, and putting your news articles in
    a file-type database, you could offer an RSS feed to anyone who wants
    to monitor your website. Instead of offering a way for them to register
    for your updates, it would happen automatically on their homepage(s) by
    using the RSS feed from your site.

    You'll be getting really deep into PHP when you get to your next ideas
    about using other features.

    To make your life a whole lot easier, you might just want to use WordPress
    for your site structure. You can also get a gallery type plug-in for WP.
    I like CopperMine (like you're using), but it has a ton of security issues.
    You'll soon have your site hacked into ... via CopperMine (my prediction).

    You are using CopperMine 1.4.19 ...
    They are already beta testing 1.5.1
    They struggle to keep ahead of security issues as the revisions change:
    1.4.20, 21, 22, 23, etc.
    That's the problem with CopperMine



    .



Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:07 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com